Skip to main content

Resources for History Colloqium: Home

Resources for History Research Colloqium

Indexes and Databases (Online)



African American Newspapers (1827-1902)

America’s Historical Newspapers (1741-1928)

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers (1800-1900)

Chronicling America:  Historic American Newspapers (1860-1922)

The Pennsylvania Gazette (a colonial Pennsylvania paper) is accessible via the library catalog.

New York Times (1851 – 3 years ago)

Wall Street Journal (1889 – 1995)

Washington Post (1877-1996)



American Periodical Series (1741-1940)

JSTOR (selected journals go back into the 1600’s)

Godeys Ladies Book 1830-1898 (online, accessible via the library catalog)

Harpers Magazine  in print 1850- 1939, with some gaps

Government Documents

American State Papers (1789-1838)

US Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980)

Other Primary Sources

North American Womens Letters and Diaries:  Colonial Times to 1950

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories (1800-2000)

Early American Imprints, Series I:  Evans, 1639-1800

Everyday Life of American Women:  1800-1920


Reference Works


American County Histories:  New Jersey 

Encyclopedia of the American Revolution  / REF E 208 E64 2006

Early Republic and Antebellum America / REF E 301 E146 2010

Historical Dictionary of the American Revolution / REF E 209 M36 2010

Language of the Civil War / REF E 468.9 W755 2001

Encyclopedia of American Social History / REF HN 57 E58 1993



American Diaries / REF CT 214 A74 (an index to diaries published as books or journal articles, with several indexes)

Revolutionary America, 1763-1789:  A Bibliography / REF E 208 G46 1984

Civil War Eyewitnesses / REF E 601 C78 1988

Civil War Eyewitnesses / REF E 601 C65 2000

American Revolution and New Jersey:  A Bibliography (online, accessible via the library catalog)


 Locating Books

 Search by keyword or browse by subject heading

When using the library catalog to look for diaries or memoirs, search for “personal narrative” in the subject heading.  (For example, United States History Revolution 1775—1783 personal narratives)



Subject Guide

Julie Still
Paul Robeson Library

Rutgers University, Camden

856 225-2846