Gender and Sexuality in U.S. History

Search QuickSearch (and other library catalogs) using the subject keywords and the word "sources." For example

interracial marriage sources
feminism united states sources
gay liberation movement united states sources
sex customs united states sources

You can also modify your subject search with these subject keywords: "archives," "correspondence," "diaries," "interviews," "personal narratives," or "memoirs." For example

sanger margaret archives
beard mary ritter correspondence
transsexuals interviews

Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources

Reproduction (or excerpts) of primary sources--mostly American or British--relating to gender and sexuality. Includes introduction to the topic as well as a section on the significance of the source. Rutgers-restricted Access

Gender: Identity and Social Change

Digitized primary sources depicting gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement, and the men’s movement. Thematic Areas includes "The Body" and "Sex and Sexuality." Rutgers-restricted Access

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

Books, images, essays, and primary documents organized around "document projects" that pose a question relating to the role of women in U.S. social movements. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Everryday Life and Women in America

"A collection of digitized primary sources that illuminate the daily lives of women in the United States in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Conduct of life manuals and domestic management literature are major highlights of the collection." Rutgers-restricted Access

Black Thought and Culture

Full text of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writing (articles, essays, books, speeches, interviews, pamphlets and correspondence) by leading figures in African American life and culture. Primarily 20th century materials, although includes some materials back to the 18th century. Includes a complete run of the Black Panther newspaper, 1966 through 1980. Rutgers-restricted Access

Women Working, 1800-1930

Approximately 650,000 digitized pages and nearly 1,500 images images, including 3,000 pages of manuscripts and personal papers, and 7,000 pages of institutional records; more than 3,100 individually cataloged books, magazines, and trade catalogs; and well over 1,400 photographs. From the Harvard University Library Open Collections Program.

History of Women, Guide to the Microfilm Collection

Woodbridge, CT : Research Publications, 1983.

Guide to 1248 reel collection owned by the Rutgers Alexander Library. The collection includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, manuscripts, and photographs produced up to 1920. Holdings primarily based on the Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College and the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe, augmented by collections contributed by other institutions, including the Jane Addams Hull House Library.

Dana Call Number: Ref. HQ1121.R474 1983 An Online Guide is also available.

Guide to the Microfilm Edition of Herstory : Including Guides to Supplementary Sets I and II

Wilmington, Del. : Distributed by Scholarly Resources, [199-?]

Guide to the 90 reel collection owned by the Rutgers' Douglass Library. Newspapers, journals, and newsletters of "women's liberation and women's civic, religious, and professional and peace organizations from all over the world" through 1971. Based on the collection of the Women's History Library at Berkeley.

Dana Call Number: Ref. HQ1426.G85 1990z

A Guide to the Microfilm Edition of the Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, 1918-1965: Part 1, Reports of the Director, Annual Summaries, Major Conferences, Speeches and Articles

Edited by Dale Grinder. Frederick, MD., University Publications of America, Inc. 1986.

Reel guide and subject index. Among the subject included are "Negro Women Workers." Reels available for interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.

The Gay Rights Movement:1951-1975: Mattachine Society of New York, Inc.

Woodbridge, Conn., Research Publications, 1998.

24 microfilm reels; archives of the Mattachine Society of New York. Index to the microfilm collection

Alexander Call Number: M-FILM 2789

The Gay Rights Movement: 1970-1983: Gay Activists Alliance.

Woodbridge, Conn., Research Publications, 1998.

21 microfilm reels; archives of the Gay Activiists Alliance. Index to the microfilm collection.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries. Letters and Diaries in the collection of the American Antiquarian Society. Date coverage is approximately 1750-1950; particularly strong in nineteenth century material. Rutgers-restricted Access

North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial Times to 1950. Published and unpublished letters and diaries, journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings. Rutgers-restricted Access

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930. Online collection of approximately 2,200 books and pamphlets as well as 7,800 photographs, 200 maps and 9,600 pages from Harvard manuscript and archival collections. Emphasis on 19th century materials. An amazing resource!