Core Competencies for Rutgers New Jersey Medical School - RBHS

Chapter 15, Abdominal Pain
This source includes sections on: the immediate management of life-threatening problems; further evaluation of the patient with abdominal pain; additional measures for the management of acute abdomen; management of specific disorders causing abdominal pain; conditions causing acute abdominal pain that are not amenable to surgery; and a “See Also” section.

Chapter 30, Wound Care
This source includes sections on: the emergency management of life-threatening problems; wound assessment; emergency treatment of specific types of wounds; and a “See Also” section.

Chapter 18, Wounds and Soft Tissue Injuries
This source includes sections on: wound cleaning and irrigation; wound assessment; wound foreign bodies; traumatic wounds; ear lacerations; lip lacerations; tendon lacerations; animal bite wounds; fishhook injuries; simple wound closures; complex wound closures; wound care complications; burns; decubitus ulcers; electrical injury; and a “See Also” section.

Chapter 14 Chest Pain
This source includes section on: immediate management of life-threatening problems; management of specific disorders involving chest pain; and a “See Also” section.

Chapter 13, Respiratory Distress
This source includes sections on: the immediate management of life-threatening problems; further diagnostic evaluation; emergency treatment of specific disorders; and a “See Also” section.

Chapter 62 Respiratory Distress
This source includes a section on dyspnea.

Chapter 31: Eye Emergencies
This source includes sections on: the emergency evaluation of important ocular symptoms; ocular conditions requiring immediate treatment; nontraumatic ocular emergencies; ocular burns and trauma; equipment and supplies; common techniques for treatment of ocular disorders; common pitfalls to be avoided in the treatment of ocular disorders; and a “See Also” section.
Chapter 32: Emergency Disorders of the Ear, Nose, Sinuses, Oropharynx, & Mouth
Presentations of emergent ENT conditions.

Chapter 20: Headache
This source includes sections on: the immediate evaluation and management of headache caused by life threatening conditions; approach to the diagnosis of headache; management of specific disorders causing acute headache; management of specific disorders causing subacute headache; idiopathic intracranial hyperstension (psuedotumor cerbrebri); management of specific disorders causing chronic headache; and a “See Also” section.
Chapter 37: Neurologic Emergencies
This source includes sections on: the management of life-threatening problems; emergency management of specific central neurologic disorders; emergency management of peripheral neuropathies; emergency management of myopathies; emergency management of metabolic encephalopathies; emergency management of other disorders causing neurologic symptoms; and a “See Also” section.

Chapter 28: Orthopedic Emergencies
This source includes sections on: the immediate management of life-threatening injuries; general orthopedic principles; management of specific orthopedic injuries; upper extremity injuries; lower extremity injuries; common pitfalls; and a “See Also” section.

Chapter 38: Obstetric and Gynecologic Emergencies and Sexual Assault
This source includes sections on: epidemiology; normal physiology; clinical features; diagnosis; laboratory evaluation and imaging; treatment; disposition and follow-up; special populations; special considerations; references; and a “See Also” section.

Chapter 99: Comorbid Disorders in Pregnancy
This source includes sections on: epidemiology; normal physiology; clinical features; diagnosis; laboratory evaluation and imaging; treatment; disposition and follow-up; special populations; special considerations; references; and a “See Also” section.