Skip to main content

21:085:497 Graphic Design Senior Studio I: Graphic Design Resources

A set of bibliographic resources for students in Chantal Fischzang's Graphic Design Senior Studio

Welcome to Graphic Design Senior Studio

Dear Students:

I hope the material in this guide helps you with your coursework for Professor Fischzang's Senior Studio Seminar course.  This page contains information about research resources related to Graphic Design. Other pages include basic information about using the Rutgers University Libraries as well as suggested sources and examples of search terms to start you on your journey.

You will need to connect to the library's resources from off campus. There is a LibGuide that will help you get started using Rutgers Library Resources.

If you live too far away from any of the Rutgers Libraries to pick up a book you want, you can order it through your local library via Interlibrary Loan. Be aware that this process may take a long time, so plan your research projects in advance to allow for delays in delivery.

Please contact me any time with questions about research, or you can call the Dana Library Reference Desk during their listed hours of operation.

Best regards,

Krista White (kwhite2@rutgers.edu, 973-353-5913)

Dana Reference Desk 973-353-5901

Print Journals for Graphic Design

Journals and Trade Magazines for Graphic Design

You must be logged in to the library's web site in order to access these databases.

Novum : das Forum für Kommunikations-Design (Print Only)
English title: Novum : World of graphic design
This trade journal has issues from 1997 to 2005. The bound journals are in the basement of the Dana Library; You may photocopy or scan articles for your own use in the Copy Room behind the security desk. If you need an article from a year that Dana Library does not own, you may use Interlibrary Loan.

Graphic Design USA (Annual of the American Institute of Graphic Arts)
The Dana Library has print copies of this periodical from 1987-1995 and 1997-2000. The bound journals are in the basement of the Dana Library; You may photocopy or scan articles for your own use in the Copy Room behind the security desk. The Douglass Laurie Library has the year 1996, and articles from this issue may be requested thorugh an Article Delivery Request. You must order articles from any  years not listed here via Interlibrary Loan.

Books on Graphic Design at the Dana Library

Reference Resources

Electronic Resources for Art and Design

Electronic Journals

Arts and Design Studies
Arts and Design Studies is a peer reviewed journal published by IISTE. The journal publishes original papers at the forefront of arts and design research. The journal, begun in 2011,  is published in both printed and online versions. The online version is free access and download. Issues of the journal are available from 2011 to the present.

Chitrolekha International Magazine on Art and Design
This magazine on art, crafts, heritage and local history was started after creators found lack of scholarly and popular materials in journals and magazines especially on the artistic traditions and heritage sites of Bengal and other places of India. The online version is free access and download. Issues of the journal are available from 2011 to the present.

Design Quarterly
Originally printed as Every Day Art Quarterly by the Walker Museum, Design Quarterly published articles on the impact that designers made in the world of art and beyond. Rutgers has access to the full run of the journal from 1954-1996 in JSTOR.

Design Issues
Design Issues is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering design history, theory, and criticism. The journal typically includes theoretical and critical articles, book reviews, and illustrations. Design Issues was established in 1984 and is published online and in hard copy by MIT Press. (Wikipedia) Rutgers has access to issues from 1984 to the present in a number of databases.  There is a 1 year embargo, which means that articles from the most recent 12 months are not yet available. You can order embargoed articles via Interlibrary Loan.

Eye: The International Review of Graphic Design (Wordsearch, London)
This trade journal for graphic designers has issues from 2007 to the present in a number of databases.  Articles previous to 2007 should also be ordered via Interlibrary Loan.

Form
This journal concentrates on the professional aspects of architecture, interior, landscape, furniture, product design, materials, and technology. Form has been published since 1994. Rutgers has access to issues from 2008 to the present.  You can order articles from earlier years of publication via Interlibrary Loan.

Issues in Architecture, Art and Design
This trade journal for architects and designers has issues from 1995 to 1999 in a number of databases.  Articles previous to 1995 and after 1999 may be ordered via Interlibrary Loan.

Print
This trade magazine for graphic and print industries has issues available electronically from 1995 to the present. If you need articles from issues of the magazine printed before 1995, you may order them via Interlibrary Loan.

Scandinavian Journal of Design History
Scandinavian Journal of Design History publishes articles on arts and crafts, decorative arts, industrial design, graphic art, interiors, etc.. The articles are written by scholars from universities, museums, design schools, etc. Rutgers has access to issues electronically from 1998 to 2005. If you need articles from issues of the magazine printed before 1998 or after 2005, you may order them via Interlibrary Loan.

Scope: Contemporary Research Topics (Art & Design)
Scope is peer-reviewed and published annually in November by Otago Polytechnic/Te Kura Matatini ki Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand. Scope (Art & Design) aims to engage discussion on contemporary research in the visual arts. It is concerned with views and critical debates surrounding issues of practice, theory, history and their relationships as manifested through the visual and related arts and activities. Rutgers has access to issues electronically from 2008 to the present. If you need articles from issues of the magazine printed before 2008, you may order them via Interlibrary Loan.

Finding Articles

The following sources can be used to access bibliographic information on books and journal articles in art.  The sources listed here include both sources specific to art (such as Art Source); and sources that cover a broader subject area of which art is a part (such as Academic Search Premiere or Humanities Source)

Electronic Indexes and Abstracts -- Rutgers Restricted Access

ARTbibliographies Modern
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year.

**Art Full Text (Citations with abstract 1984-present, some full-text 1997-present)
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from art periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, this database indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Full Text is a crucial source for research on all periods of art, art history, and architectural history broadly defined, including stylistic periods and movements and individual artists throughout the history of art from the ancient period through the present day.

Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Art Index Retrospective contains the so-called 'back file' of the print Art Index from the first volume, 1929, through 1984. The index is citation based, and the information indexed is largely limited to the fields of art history, architectural history, and the visual arts. Because the index stretches back to the first quarter of the twentieth century, it contains citations for primary source material on a variety of art historical movements in the field of modernism.

ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital image library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
A multi-discipline, full-text database of 3,200 scholarly publications as well as abstracts and indexing for over 4,170 scholarly journals with some dating back to 1984. A valuable and large collection of peer-reviewed full text journals for nearly all academic areas of study.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art (RILA)
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art (RILA) provides a comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of Western art from late antiquity to the present. Broad in scope, BHA and RILA encompasses fine arts-painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, and architecture-as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, folk, and popular art.

Humanities Full Text
Humanities Full Text provides full text, page images, abstracts, and bibliographic citations for noted scholarly resources as well as specialized magazines in the humanities. Among the disciplines included are: archaeology, area studies, art and photography, classical studies, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism and communications, linguistics, literary and social criticism, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.

JSTOR
A database featuring back runs of key journals.  JSTOR has agreed with publishers to set up a "moving wall" so that the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 2-5 years after the publishing date. The Rutgers subscription to JSTOR provides access to 23 philosophy journals, including Journal of Philosophy, Mind, Philosophical Quarterly, and Philosophical Review. JSTOR features full-text searching of key words and phrases.

Digital Humanities Librarian

Krista White
Contact:
Digital Humanities Librarian

The John Cotton Dana Library
Social:Twitter Page

Electronic Encyclopedias & Databases

Contemporary Fashion [Rutgers Restricted]
"A reference book covering individual designers and fashion houses that have been active throughout the 20th and 21st centuries." 2nd edition. A freely accessible version is also available.

Oxford (Grove) Art Online [Rutgers Restricted]
Browse alphabetically or search for articles on all aspects of art, including biographies of artists. Includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Most entries include bibliographies and links to related articles.

New Art Books