Skip to Main Content

Alumni Databases

Useful bibliographic databases that are available for use without subscription or institutional affiliation.

U.S. Patents

U.S. Patent Office Databases
Search and view patents granted/applied for through the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office. Patents issued between 1790 and 1976 are searchable only by patent number and current US classifications. Full-text since 1976, full-page images since 1790.

Other Patent Databases

Canadian Patent Database
Index to Canadian patents from 1869 to the present. Abstracts available for patents granted after August 15, 1978; images available for patents granted since 1920. From the Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO).
Espacenet
"Access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today." From the European Patent Office and the members of the European Patent Organisation.
J-PlatPat 
Japan Patent Office searchable database of patents, designs, trademarks, and other protected content.  
Rutgers University Libraries
169 College Ave
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1163

Contact Us Giving to the Libraries

Staff Resources

About Rutgers University Libraries
Contact the Libraries
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.