Skip to main content

Art Library Research Guide: Architecture

Visit this research guide for books, articles, images, websites, and other resources for your art and art history classes.

What is it?

Architecture involves the style and methods of design and construction of buildings and other physical structures. This guide provides links to resources on architectural subjects from antiquity through the present day.

Electronic Resources

First check resources in the Find Articles tab of this LibGuide, and then return here for more specific materials.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals: Offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. 

 

Dictionary of Islamic ArchitecturePetersen's Dictionary of Islamic Architectural Terms, originally published in 1996; contains links to buildings and publications on ArchNet.

CAMEO: Conservation & Art Material Encyclopedia OnlineIncludes a materials database containing chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials.

The Getty Research Institute: Art & Architecture ThesaurusThe four Getty vocabularies are intended to provide terminology and other information about the objects, artists, concepts, and places important to various disciplines that specialize in art, architecture, and material culture. 

Print Resources

Historical dictionary of neoclassical art and architecture / Allison Lee Palmer.
ART STACKS N6425.N4P35 2011
 
Historical dictionary of architecture / Allison Lee Palmer.
ART STACKS NA200.P35 2008
 
The Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture / edited by Gordon Campbell.
ALEX REF N5610.G76 2007 v.1-2
 
The Phaidon atlas of contemporary world architecture : comprehensive edition.
ART EFOLIO NA680.P53 2004
 
Archispeak : an illustrated guide to architectural terms / Tom Porter ; with contributions by Steve Bowkett ... [et al.].
ART REF NA31.P67 2004
 
World architecture 1900-2000 : a critical mosaic / general editor, Kenneth Frampton.
ART STACKS NA680.W67 1999 v.1-10
 
American architecture : an illustrated encyclopedia / Cyril M. Harris.
ART REF NA705.H36 1998
 
Encyclopedia of vernacular architecture of the world / edited by Paul Oliver.
ART REF NA208.E53 1997 v.1-3
 
Encyclopedia of American architecture, 2nd ed. / Robert T. Packard [editor], Balthazar Korab, illustration editor.
ART REF NA705.P3 1995
 
International dictionary of architects and architecture / editor, Randall J. Van Vynckt.
ART, ROBESON, CARR REF NA40.I48 1993 v.1-2
 
Encyclopedia of 20th century architecture / general editor, Vittorio Magnago Lampugnani.
ART REF NA680.H3913 1985

 

Helsinki University of Technology auditorium by Alvar Aalto

Image taken from Wikimedia Commons

Credit

Some of the resources on this page were gathered from Brigham Young University's Architecture guide by Christiane E. Ramsey.