Skip to main content

Art Library Research Guide: Medieval Art

Visit this research guide for books, articles, images, websites, and other resources for your art and art history classes.

What is it?

Medieval art refers to art and architecture produced in Europe and the Middle East from the time of the collapse of the Roman Empire in 5th century CE to the Renaissance. It encompasses time periods and styles including Early Christian, Migration Period, Byzantine, Romanesque, and Gothic. Medieval works were produced in media such as illuminated manuscripts, sculpture, stained glass, mosaics, and metalwork.

Electronic Resources

First check resources in the Find Articles tab of this LibGuide, and then return here for more specific materials.

Index of Christian Art: An iconographic index of Christian art from early apostolic times to 1500 CE with an emphasis on the Western world. Begun in 1917 by Professor Charles Rufus Morey of Princeton University, it is now the most important and largest archive of Medieval art anywhere in the world.

International Medieval Bibliography: The most comprehensive index for Medieval Studies. The online database comprises over 300,000 records. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 400-1500 CE. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medival Studies Module: Annotated bibliographies by scholars in medieval studies. Period covered is 300-1500 CE.

Cambridge Histories Online: Includes New Cambridge Medieval History and The Cambridge History of the Byzantine Empire.

Dyabola: Indexes books, festschrifts, journals, and collected works on antiquities, art, and archaeology in the Mediterranean world from antiquity through the early medieval period.

Medieval Family Life: Full-text versions of five major family letter collections from the late medieval England period, including the Paston Family Papers. Period covered is 1400-1490 CE.

Parliament Rolls of Medieval England, 1275-1504: Provides a full transcription of the original Latin, Anglo-Norman, or Middle English texts and a modern English translation for all surviving official records of the sessions of the medieval English parliament, with selected page images for each reign representing different languages, scripts, and styles.

Print Resources

New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. Detroit : Thomson/Gale. Also available electronically.

ALEX REF BX841.N44 2002 v.1-15

Medival art: a topical dictionary / Leslie Ross. 

ART REF N7850.R67 1996


A dictionary of Christian art / Peter and Linda Murray.

ALEX REF N7830.M872 2001


Enciclopedia dell'arte medievale. Roma : Istituto della enciclopedia italiana, c1991-

ART REF N5965.E5 1993 v.1-12

 

Dictionary of Celtic religion and culture / Bernhard Maier ; translated by Cyril Edwards.

ALEX REF BL900.M4513 1997


Larousse encyclopedia of Byzantine and medieval art. 1963.

ALEX STACKS N5970.H813


Atlas of the medieval world / Rosamond McKitterick.

ALEX REF D117.M35 2004

 

Medieval Islamic civilization : an encyclopedia / Josef W. Meri, editor.

ALEX REF DS36.85.M434 2006 v.1


Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages / edited by Andre Vauchez ; in conjunction with Barrie Dobson and Michael Lapidge ; English translation by Adrian Walford.

ALEX REF D114.E53 2000 v.1-2

 

Understanding early Christian art / Robin Margaret Jensen.

ART STACKS N7832.J46 2000

 

Illustrated dictionary of symbols in Eastern and Western Art / James Hall ; illustrated by Chris Puleston.

ART STACKS N7740.H35 1996

Chartres Cathedral

The Western (Royal) Portal at Chartres Cathedral, France (ca. 1145).

The Western (Royal) Portal at Chartres Cathedral, France (ca. 1145). 

Credit

Some of the resources on this page were gathered from the University of Melbourne's Medieval Art guide by Monica Raszewski.