Skip to main content

Art Library Research Guide: Modern Art

Visit this research guide for books, articles, images, websites, and other resources for your art and art history classes.

What is it?

"A term generally used to cover art of an avant-garde nature from the beginning of the 20th century onwards. It is particularly associated with that century, however, and more recent art is often referred to as contemporary." Movements include cubism, futurism, Dada, and surrealism. Masters include Picasso, Matisse, Dalí, and Klee.

Clarke, M., inasdf & Clarke, D. (n.d.). modern art. In Oxford University Press, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Resources

First check resources in the Find Articles tab of this LibGuide, and then return here for more specific materials.

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM): Search citations and/or abstracts of articles, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on both modern and contemporary art since the late 1960s. Art mediums include installation works, body art, graffiti, video art, computer art, crafts, glass art, fashion, calligraphy, and traditional mediums including painting, drawing and sculpture.

CollectionsSearchCenter: Access journals, images, audio, and video from the Smithsonian's museums, libraries, and archives. Collections include: National Museum of American Indians Collections, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Collection, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden Collection, and National Portrait Gallery Collection.

Smithsonian Institution Research Information (SIRIS):A database that focuses primarily on art created or collected in the United States. Search the Archives of American Art, Archives & Manuscripts, Art Inventories, and the Juley Photographic Collection.

The 20th-Century Art Book. London : Phaidon Press, 1996. ART LIBRARY Folio N6490.A16 1996

The Duo (1914-15) by Giorgio de Chirico

Credit

Some of the resources on this page were gathered from NYU's The Institute of Fine Arts guide by Michael Hughes.