Skip to main content

Art Library Research Guide: Art Library Glossary

Visit this research guide for books, articles, images, websites, and other resources for your art and art history classes.

Dictionaries

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (in Oxford Art Online)

Oxford English Dictionary

Langmuir, Erika; Lynton, Norbert. The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists. ART REF N33.L353 2000

Mayer, Ralph. The HarperCollins Dictionary of Art Terms and Techniques. ART REF N33.M37 1992

Saur, K.G. Multilingual glossary for art librarian: English with indexes in Dutch, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Swedish. ART REF Z1006.M85 1996

Turner, Jane, ed. The Dictionary of Art. ART REF N31.D5 1996 v.1-34

Turner, Jane, ed. The Grove Dictionary of Art. ART REF N6847.G76 2000

Art Library Terms

Aquatint - a print made using a copper plate etched with nitric acid, not unlike a water-color.

Artists' Books - use of the book format by the visual artist to create a work of art, with words or without, with paper or another material.

Catalogue Raisonné - the complete works of an artist put together in a single collection, assembled in book form. See also corpus.

Codex - fancy word for book.

Ephemera - items created for a specific event or purpose for short-term use and not meant for preservation; also printed ephemera.

Emblem Book - a picture-book designed to promote ethical values by depicting allegorical figures with accompanying pedagogical glosses

Exhibition Catalogue - a list of all the pieces shown in a particular exhibition at a museum, gallery, etc.

Folio - sheets, often in an extra large book, that are folded inward so that two pages can fit within one sheet. Not unlike magazine foldouts.

Illuminated Manuscript - a book written by hand and decorated with illustrations.

Lithography - drawings made with a printmaking method involving stone, ink, grease, and water.

Livre d’Artiste - a book whose illustrations are original artworks done by an artist directly onto the printing materials.

Subject Guide

Megan Lotts
Contact:
71 Hamilton St
New Brunswick, NJ
08901
(848)932-7189
Subjects:Art History

Credit

Some of the information on this page was gathered from Princeton University's Studio Art Library Resources guide by Rebecca K. Friedman.