Skip to main content

Art Library Research Guide: Encyclopedias

Visit this research guide for books, articles, images, websites, and other resources for your art and art history classes.

Unique Forms of Continuity in Space (1913) by Umberto Boccioni

Art Encyclopedias (electronic)

Oxford (Grove) Art Online [Rutgers Restricted]
Browse alphabetically or search for articles on all aspects of art, including biographies of artists. Includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Most entries include bibliographies and links to related articles.

Brill's New Pauly Online [Rutgers Restricted]
An encyclopaedia of the ancient world for everyday use. It also covers interest in Antiquity (the Classical Tradition) in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history.

CAMEO: Conservation & Art Material Encyclopedia Online
Includes a Materials database containing chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials; a Directory of conservation-related organizations; and a repository of information on Forbes' Pigments.

Contemporary Fashion [Rutgers Restricted]
"A reference book covering individual designers and fashion houses that have been active throughout the 20th and 21st centuries." 2nd edition. A freely accessible version is also available.

Encyclopedia of African American Artists [Rutgers Restricted]
Biographical and critical information on "black artists from the African Diaspora who have worked and lived, or continue to do so, in the United States." Electronic version of the print resource.

Encyclopedia of Giftedness, Creativity, and Talent [Rutgers Restricted]
"Contains thousands of ready-to-use facts from the fields of education, psychology, sociology, and the arts. The entries cover the major facets of this field, from artistic ability, to achievement motivation, to creative personality, to emotional intelligence, gender differences, genius, intelligence testing, learning styles, minority under-representation, multiple intelligences, musical ability, prodigies, scientists, self-actualization, thinking skills, and more."

Subject Guide

Megan Lotts
Contact:
71 Hamilton St
New Brunswick, NJ
08901
(848)932-7189
Subjects:Art History