Skip to main content

New Jersey Genealogy: Genealogical Compilations

Basic guide to Rutgers and other genealogical resources.

New Jersey Historical Society

Charles Carroll Gardner Collection
Extensive (ca. 30,000 cards; 29 notebooks ["A" to "Clark"]; 180 manuscript folders) collection of materials relating to northern New Jersey families.

Freeman Worth Gardner Collection
Approximately 35,000 cards, numerous notebooks, and manuscripts relating to early families in the Woodbridge, New Jersey vicinity.

Oliver B. Leonard Collection
76 folders on families from Middlesex and Union Counties, principally in the vicinity of Woodbridge and Plainfield.

Reverend Elias Boudinot Stockton Collection
"Nearly 75,000 cards which depict family relationships, dates of births and deaths, sources consulted, and other data. This collection is also made up of approximately fifteen hundred folders that hold information on early New Jersey families. Of note is a series of cards recording vital statistics for a number of slaves."

Other, primarily individual or family, collections at the NJHS.

Gloucester County Historical Society

The Gloucester County Historical Society has a Vertical File Collection, with many files relating to Gloucester County families, as well as a collection of Genealogical Charts.

Genealogical Compilations at Rutgers

Rutgers' Special Collections and University Archives houses a number of major genealogical compilations including

NJ State Society, Daughters of the American Revolution State Library
Over 600 bound volumes with lineages, compiled genealogies, and transcriptions.

The Charles Carroll Gardner Collection
This collection has two major components:

  • A series of about 60 volumes devoted to pre-Revolutionary New Jersey families and individuals arranged alphabetically by surname. Entries consist of information taken from the New Jersey Archives series and many county, town, and church records.
  • A large card file collection arranged by surname, and consisting of records copied from civil, court, land, probate, and other sources. All references are to individuals who lived in Essex, Union, or Morris counties from the colonial era to the first half of the 19th century.

The John Pickens Dornan Collection
A large collection, with a surname card index, of information on Quakers and other families of South Jersey. The collection also includes abstracts (incomplete) of 18th and 19th century South Jersey Quaker meetings.

The Emigrant Register
A collection of 22 binders compiled by the Genealogical Society of New Jersey and consisting of data sheets on 19th-century individuals who emigrated from New Jersey to other parts of the country.

New Jersey Diaries, 1746-1905
Chiefly 19th century diaries and journals of New Jersey residents. This is a composite collection made up of numerous small collections. Descriptions of many of the individual collections can be found in Donald Sinclair's Guide to Manuscript Diaries and Journals in the Special Collections Department, Rutgers University, (1980). Available?

If you would like to know if a family name that you are interested in appears in any of these collections and are unable to use the material on site, please see the section on Genealogical Research (http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/libs/scua/genealogy/genealogy.shtml) on the SC/UA webpage.