Workers' Compensation Resources & Research

Overview of workers' compensation and resources on workers' compensation.

If you work in New York State, this is the starting point.

Includes: Return-to-work handbook; introductory video; workers' compensation navigator training workshops; union training; consultation services; research.

Includes: Basic Facts on Workers’ Compensation for Injured Workers; Fact Sheet for Injured Worker; Fact Sheets and Guides for Injured Worker; DWC Glossary of Workers’ Compensation Terms for Injured Workers; Information Just for You…the Injured Worker; Returning to Work after a Job Injury: Tools for Injured Workers and Unions (2007); Simplified Flow Chart for Claims Process; Slideshow—Early Return to Work; Workers' Compensation in California—A Guidebook for Injured Workers (2006).

The Volunteer Firefighters’ and Volunteer Ambulance Workers’ Benefits Laws provide cash benefits and/or medical care for volunteer members who are injured or become ill in the line of duty.

What To Do If You Are Injured On The Job and more...

Todos los reclamantes tienen los mismos derechos a beneficios, independientemente del idioma que hablen. La Junta tiene varios servicios disponibles en español, de manera que usted pueda participar en su caso aunque no hable inglés.

If you’re injured at work, you have the right to the following...

The Office of the Advocate for Injured Workers was created as a unique service to assist workers who were injured or made ill on their job in New York State. The Advocate staff provides guidance and information to injured workers to enable them to protect their rights in the workers’ compensation system.

The consequences of the September 11, 2001, attacks on the World Trade Center (WTC) are still felt in New York today. Workers who performed rescue, recovery and clean-up duties continue to file and pursue workers’ compensation claims.

On March 13, 2007, the Workers Compensation Reform Act (“Reform Act”) was signed into law. Highlights of the new law included raising the maximum benefits payable to injured workers; providing return to work initiatives; limiting indemnity benefits for permanently partial non-scheduled claims to a maximum number of years (duration caps), thereby reducing costs and premiums; and strengthening penalties for fraud and abuse.

The medical guidelines which follow were developed in accordance with a recommendation of the Temporary State Commission on Workers' Compensation. It is hoped that they will serve as a convenient reference source for evaluating work-related injuries, and introduce clarity and regularity into the determination of disability.

If you sustain a job injury or a work-related illness, the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Act (Act) provides for your medical expenses and, in the event you are unable to work, wage-loss compensation benefits until you’re able to go back to work. Additionally, death benefits for work- related deaths are paid to your dependent survivors.

Si usted tiene un accidente o una enfermedad causada como resultado de su trabajo, la «Ley de Compensación de los Trabajadores Lesionados de Pennsylvania» le provee fondos para pagar gastos médicos, además de beneficios compensatorios por ingresos perdidos mientras no esté trabajando como resultado de su accidente o enfermedad. También, en caso de su muerte como resultado de un accidente en el trabajo, sus dependientes que le sobrevivan recibirán compensación.

If you are involved in any way with workers' compensation in the State of New Jersey, then we suggest you purchase this handbook by Gregory Lois.

This brochure from the NJ Dept. of Labor and Workforce Development, summarizes workers' compensation benefits for NJ workers and provides a list of offices.

What is workers' compensation? Does workers' compensation cover just my medical bills? Are all on-the-job injuries covered by workers' compensation? Does workers' compensation cover only injuries or does it also cover long-term problems and illnesses? Do I have to be injured at my workplace to be covered by workers' compensation? Are all employees covered by workers' compensation? Can I be treated by my own doctor and, if not, can I trust a doctor provided by my employer?

Workers' comp benefits can include medical care, rehabilitation expenses, and disability coverage to compensate you for lost wages.

The National website providing workers compensation news and information for employees, employers, insurers, and medical providers. Use the research center, locate an insurance provider, get info on your state's program, and find professional help relating to workplace injuries and disabilities in the U.S.