Skip to main content

W E B DuBois / Dr. Hazzard Donald: Home

Library Resources

Reference Books

W. E. B. Du Bois:  An Encyclopedia / REF E 185.97 D73 W164 2001
African-American Culture and History / REF E 185 .E54 2006
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1985 / REF E 185 E545 2006
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896-present / REF E 185 E543 2009
Organizing Black America:  An Encyclopedia of African American Associations / REF E 185.5 O74 2001
Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights / REF E 185.61 E54 2003
Encyclopedia of the American Left / REF HX 86 E58 1990
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals / REF PN 4882.5 A37 1990
Harlem Renaissance / REF PS 153 N5 H245
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance / REF NX 512.3 A35 E53
African American Orators: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook / REF E 185.96 A447 1996

Printed Periodical Indexes

Roots of Afrocentric Thought:  A Reference Guide to the Negro Digest / Black World, 1961-1976 / REF E 185.5 N3815
Opportunity:  Journal of Negro Life Index, 1923-1949 / REF E 185.5 O6
Index to Black Periodicals, 1950+ / (on second floor with older indexes)

Online Databases 

America:  History & Life
Historical Abstracts
PAIS (printed index covers earlier years)
Ethnic Newswatch
Literature Resource Center

Black Thought and Culture (search DuBois as Du Bois)
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
New York Times (1851-a few years ago)
Washington Post (8177-1993)
Social Sciences Index (1907-present)
Humanities Index (1907-present)
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)

Library of Congress Online Resources

American Memory Project


Subject Guide

Julie Still
Paul Robeson Library

Rutgers University, Camden

856 225-2846