Videos on the Arts

Ansel Adams a documentary film 2002

Ric Burns, Marilyn Ness, and David Ogden Stiers

Intimate portrait of a great artist and ardent environmentalist-for whom life and art, photography and wilderness, creativity and communication, love and expression, were inextricably connected. 1 videocassette (ca. 90 min.)

MEDIA 10-3373         2-4371

 

By Brakhage: An anthology: Volume two 2010

Stan Brakhage, Marilyn Brakhage, Marilynne S Mason, Fred Camper, Mark Toscano, and Criterion Collection (Firm)

In this second installment, we are proud to present thirty more of Brakhage's innovative creations, from his 1950s films to his final work from 2003. Highlights of this collection include the antiwar film 23rd psalm branch; hand-painted films from the Persian series; The wonder ring, made for a commission by Joseph Cornell; the autobiographical Scenes from under childhood, section one; his only found-footage film, Murder psalm; and much more. 3 videodiscs (455 min.) :

MEDIA 10-2935

 

Carmen Lomas Garza looking back c2009

Carmen Lomas Garza, Severo Perez, Script & Postscript Production, and Filmakers Library, inc

Carmen Lomas Garza revisits the people and places of her youth and describes growing up in a Mexican American family in Kingsville, Texas, her experiences with the Chicano movement, and the theme of family, community, and cultural identity in her paintings. 1 videodisc (38 min.)

MEDIA 10-1684

 

For memories' sake c2010

"For Memories' Sake investigates the life and work of Angela Singer, a southern homemaker who has taken an average of a dozen photos a day for the last 35 years, compiling a mysterious and strange archive of over 150,000 photographs of her daily life"--Container. 1 videodisc (29 min.)

MEDIA 10-3937

 

Frida Kahlo portrait of an artist 2004

Documentary on Mexican artist Frida Kahlo, incorporating archival material, journals and letters and interviews with friends and scholars. 1 videodisc (28 min.)

MEDIA 10-4093

 

Going up the stairs portrait of an unlikely Iranian artist 2011

"Akram is an illiterate 50 year old Iranian woman who became a painter unexpectedly when her young grandson asked her to work on a drawing... When invited to exhibit in Paris, she is at the mercy of her conservative husband: will he let her go showcase her raw talent or give in to his sense of tradition and keep her home?"--Container. 1 videodisc (51 min.)

DANA. MEDIA 685 10-4140

 

Inocente c2012

Documents the inspirational life of Inocente Izucar, a homeless, undocumented fifteen-year old girl in San Diego, a bourgeoning artist, and the extraordinary challenges she must contend with on a daily basis. 1 videodisc (40 min.)

MEDIA 10-4147

 

The labyrinth the testimony of Marian Kolodziej = Labirynt :  swiadectwo Mariana Kolodzieja 2011

Jason A Schmidt, Ron Schmidt, Marian Kolodziej, Roman S Czarny, December 2nd Productions (Firm), and Loyola Productions Munich

Memory, art, love, and hell collide as an Auschwitz survivor finally confronts the horrors of his past after 50 years of silence.  Marian Kolodziej was on one of the first transports to enter Auschwitz. He was given number 432. He survived and never spoke of his experience for 50 years. After a serious stroke in 1993, he began rehabilitation by doing pen and ink drawings depicting the experiences he and others endured in the concentration camp. These drawings, in their skeletal detail, are a gripping depiction of the pain, death, and horrors of the camp. While most of the drawings represent the memories of a young man's hellish experiences in Auschwitz, some tell stories of small acts of kindness and dignity.  Marian's story of survival, of persistence, of life before, during, and after Auschwitz are a testament to the human spirit. Marian's drawings and art installations, which he called The Labyrinth, fill the large basement of a church near Auschwitz and draw visitors into the horrific reality of the Holocaust.  In 'The labyrinth', Marian takes the audience on a journey through his drawings and art installations. Through the blending of his testimony and the graphic drawings, we explore the memories and nightmares of a man, who like so many others buried experiences deep within. Why would a confrontation with death late in life, trigger the need to record his long-suppressed memories? And why in this graphic, metaphorical way? This documentary raises these questions in a visually stunning way. 1 videodisc (37 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3472

 

Maya Lin a strong clear vision 2003

Freida Lee Mock, Terry Sanders, Eileen Harris Norton, Maya Ying Lin, Vincent Scully, Jan C Scruggs, Robert W Doubek, Grady Clay, Tom Carhart, J. Carter Brown , Don Lenzer, Edward Marritz, Charles Bernstein, Sanders & Mock Productions, American Film Foundation, Docurama (Firm), and New Video Group

Reveals the origins of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and tells the story of its 21 year old creator, a Yale architecture student. Lin's plan was selected from over 1,000 different designs. And what began as one of the country's most bitterly disputed monuments became one of the world's most inspirational and frequently visited memorials. 1 videodisc (83 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3264

 

Sencillamente Korda 2011

Roberto Chile, Diana Diaz, Alberto Korda, Citmatel, and Alas con Puntas (Firm)

Documentary on the work and life of Cuban photographer Alberto Korda. 1 videodisc (19 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3628

 

Superstar the life and times of Andy Warhol 2000

Chuck Workman and Marilyn Lewis Entertainment Ltd

Documentary about painter, Andy Warhol traces his life from Pittsburgh schoolboy to pop art legend, from advertising illustrator to chronicler of the haunt monde of New York City. The film includes behind-the-scenes looks at "Factory" life and several enigmatic interviews given by Warhol over the years, as well as a dazzling array of images from Warhol's art and films. 1 videodisc (87 min.)

MEDIA 10-1779

 

Umm Kulthum a voice like Egypt 2006

Umm Kulthum, Michal Goldman, Omar Sharif, Virginia Danielson, Arab Film Distribution, and Filmmakers Collaborative (Waltham, Mass.)

Born a peasant in 1898, Umm Kulthum earned a position of great wealth and influence in the Arab world as a popular and beloved singer. This film places her life in the context of 20th century Egypt. Includes concert footage, film clips, and interviews. 1 videodisc (68 min.) :

MEDIA 10-2859

 

A vision of the world Albert Kahn's archive of the planet 2009

Saskia Baron, Susannah Ward, David Okuefuna, Veronika Hyks, British Broadcasting Company, Musée Albert Kahn, and Films for the Humanities & Sciences (Firm)

"A peace-loving man with a decidedly global perspective, Albert Kahn spent most of his life and wealth trying to expand Western understanding of other cultures -- largely through film and photography. This program delves into Kahn's origins and formative years and the launch of his Archive of the Planet project. Topics include Kahn's Jewish ancestry and Alsacian [sic] upbringing; his early success in finance; his admiration of Japanese art and customs; the development of autochrome photography by the Lumičre brothers; Marguerite Mespoulet's colorful documentation of Ireland's vanishing Celtic traditions; and Kahn's expedition to Cornwall and London with August Leon."--Container. 1 videodisc (50 min.) :

MEDIA 10-2815

 

The Woodmans c2011

C. Scott Willis, George Woodman, Betty Woodman, Charlie Woodman, Neil Barrett, Jeff Werner, David Lang, C. Scott Films, and Lorber Films (Firm)

A portrait of the late photographer Francesca Woodman, told through the young artist's work (including experimental videos and journal entries) and remarkably candid interviews with her artist parents Betty and George (a ceramic sculptor and painter/photographer), who have continued their own artistic practices while watching Francesca's professional reputation eclipse their own. 1 videodisc (83 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3714

 

Yo no sé qué me han hecho tus ojos I don't know what your eyes have done to me 2005

Marcelo Céspedes,  Carmen Guarini, Lorena Muńoz, Sergio Wolf, Cine-Ojo (Firm), Cinemateca (Firm), and Facets Video (Firm)

"Argentine singer and tango legend Ada Falcón disappeared without a trace in 1942, at the height of her career. Sixty years later, filmmakers Lorena Muńoz and Sergio Wolf trace the life of this enigmatic performer in this unique documentary, told in the style of a classic thriller."--Container. 1 videodisc (63 min.) :

MEDIA 10-3303

Alfred Stieglitz, photographer 1864-1946 1998?

Alfred Stieglitz, Paul Falkenberg, Hans Namuth, Suzanne Jasper, Marthe Jacobs, John Russell, Ansel Adams, Mary Steichen Calderone, Harold Clurman, Aaron Copland, Arnold Newman, and Isamu Noguchi

With striking portraits of Stieglitz, his own images, and the works of other photographers he influenced, this film celebrates the achievements of this seminal figure in modern art and photography in America. Content is drawn from Stieglitz' own observations and reminiscences of people who know him well, including Ansel Adams, Mary Steichen Calderone, Harold Clurman, Aaron Copland, Arnold Newman and Isamu Noguchi. 1 videocassette (30 min.)

DANA 1476

 

Alfred Stieglitz the eloquent eye c2001

Perry Miller Adato, Georgia O'Keeffe, Tovah Feldshuh, Stan Wall, WNET (Television station : New York, N.Y.), Educational Broadcasting Corporation, and Fox Lorber CentreStage (Firm)

Examines the achievements and legacy of photographer Alfred Stieglitz. Includes an interview with Georgia O'Keeffe as well as film footage of other artists he inspired including Edward Steichen and John Marin. 1 videocassette (ca. 90 min.)

MEDIA 2-6698

 

Alice Aycock 1977

Alice Aycock discusses her life and work. 1 videocassette (40 min.)

MEDIA 2-5704

 

Alice Neel, 1900-1984 1990

Sarah Berry, Paul Tschinkel, Linda Nochlin , and John Perreault

Covers two of Alice Neel's most recent painting shows at the Robert Miller Gallery as well as an interview with Neel done shortly before her death in 1984. Also includes interviews with two of her painting subjects - art historian Linda Nochlin and curator/critic John Perreault. 1 videocassette (28 min.)

DANA 1477

 

Allen Houser 1976

Don Cirillo, Jack Peterson, and Ron McKuen 

Follows Allen Houser, the first contemporary Native American sculptor, through the complex creation of a bronze image, from selection of stone in the desert to the casting at the foundry. Houser's major source of inspiration is revealed as his mother tells stories of Geronimo and life on Fort Sill Reservation in Oklahoma. 1 videocassette (ca. 29 min.)

MEDIA 2-1360

 

America and Lewis Hine a moving portrait of one of America's greatest photographers 1996

Nina Rosenblum, Daniel V Allentuck, John Crowley, L. S Block, Jason Robards, and Maureen Stapleton

Using historical photographs and footage, follows America's pioneer documentary photographer on his odyssey through the mines, mills, and factories of America in the first half of the twentieth century. 1 videocassette (60 min.)

DANA 739

 

American Indian artists II Jaune Quick-To-See Smith 1982

Jaune Quick-to-See Smith, Tony Schmitz, and Jack Peterson

Jaune Quick-To-See Smith, a Shoeshone French Cree painter, discusses her abstract paintings, which depict her Indian heritage with scenes of early Plains lifestyles. During a visit to her Flathead Reservation home in Montana, Smith explains her feelings about her people and her own Indian upbringing. She reveals herself as an artist who happens to be Indian and who draws upon this heritager in her work. 1 videocassette (30 min.)

MEDIA 2-1331

 

Andy Warhol Kim Evans

A profile of Andy Warhol's life and work. This video, completed after his death in Feb. 1987, examines a career that included painting, film, television, rock music, and publishing. Includes excerpts from interviews filmed over a period of 25 years, and footage taken in London shortly before his death. 1 videocassette (79 min.)

MEDIA 2-1645

 

Ansel Adams a documentary film 2002

Ric Burns, Marilyn Ness, and David Ogden Stiers

Intimate portrait of a great artist and ardent environmentalist-for whom life and art, photography and wilderness, creativity and communication, love and expression, were inextricably connected. 1 videocassette (ca. 90 min.)

MEDIA 2-4371

 

Ansel Adams, photographer 1991

Ansel Adams, John Huszar, and Andrea Gray Stillman

Ansel Adams shows the places he has photographed, and talks about his work and techniques.  Highlights include a working session with the photographer and his assistants. 1 videocassette (60 min.)

DOUGLASS 152

 

The Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright 1983

Murray Grigor, Barbara Grigor, and Anne Baxter

Narrated by Frank Lloyd Wright's granddaughter, actress Anne Baxter, a documentary about the famous architect. Explores his impatience with the hold of the Old World on American architecture and looks at his pursuit of bold, simple designs, incorporating light and the landscape. 1 videocassette (75 min.)

MEDIA 2-2027

 

Art in the twenty-first century: Seasons one and two art 21 c2003

Susan Sollins, Susan Dowling, Catherine Tatge, Deborah Shaffer, Steve Martin, Laurie Anderson, S. Epatha Merkerson, John McEnroe, Art 21, Inc, and PBS Home Video

Meet diverse contemporary artists through revealing profiles that take viewers behind the scenes into artists' studios, homes, and communities to provide an intimate view of their lives, work, sources of inspiration and creative processes. 2 vidediscs (ca. 7 1/2 hrs.)

DANA 331

 

Basquiat 1996

Jon Kilik, Peter Brant, Joseph Allen, Lech Janusz Majewski,  Michael Thomas Holman, Sigurjon Sighvatsson, Randy Ostrow, Julian Schnabel, John Bowe, Jeffrey Wright , David Bowie, Dennis Hopper, and Gary Oldman

In 1981, a nineteen-year-old unknown graffiti writer takes the New York art world by storm. 1 videocassette (106 min.)

DANA 1480

 

Beatrice Wood mama of Dada 1993

Tom Neff, Beatrice Wood, Diandra Douglas, and Amie Knox

Documentary about the life, loves, and influences of artist Beatrice Wood, first presented on her 100th birthday, March 3, 1993.  Combines archival photographs, original artwork, commentary by art historians such as Anne d'Harnoncourt, and interviews with the artist herself. 1 videocassette (55 min.)

DANA 573

 

Benny Andrews, the visible man 1996

David K Irving, Benny Andrews, Linda Freeman, and Geoffrey Holder

Benny Andrews, African-American artist, talks about his life and art. Includes critical commentary by various art historians and others. 1 videocassette (28 min.)

MEDIA 2-3178

 

Betye and Alison Saar conjure women of the arts 1994

Alison Saar, Betye Saar, David Irving, and Linda Freeman

Mother and daughter artists demonstrate collaborative art, and the use of found objects in their work, and reflect on their relationship, motivation and role as African American women. 1 videocassette (ca. 28 min.)

DOUGLASS 166

 

Bill Moyers presents a conversation with Maya Lin 2003

Maya Ying ArtLin, Bill D Moyers, Public Affairs Television (Firm), and Films for the Humanities (Firm)

One of the rare few who have managed to excel in both art and architecture, Maya Lin creates places of refuge and contemplation in highly public spaces. Constructed on an intimite human scale, they invite visitors to touch, feel, respond and reflect. In this program, the acclaimed sculptor and architect talks with Bill Moyers about a life and career that has been shaped by her Chinese-American heritage and a profound respect and love for the natural environment. 1 videodisc (55 min.)

DANA 228

 

Carmen Harrera 1994

Carmen Herrera and Ray Blanco

A documentary about the life and work of Carmen Harrera, a painter born in Cuba in 1915  and living in New York since 1939, who gained renown as an abstract minimalist while working in Paris in  the 1940's and 1950's, but who has yet to be widely accepted in the U.S. The film includes an extensive interview with Herrera, interspersed with images of her works and commentary by critics such as Guilio Blanc, Alejandro Anreus, and Marta Gutierrez. 1 videocassette (26 min.)

MEDIA 2-2470

 

Carmen Lomas Garza looking back c2009

Carmen Lomas Garza, Severo Perez, Script & Postscript Production, and Filmakers Library, inc

Carmen Lomas Garza revisits the people and places of her youth and describes growing up in a Mexican American family in Kingsville, Texas, her experiences with the Chicano movement, and the theme of family, community, and cultural identity in her paintings. 1 videodisc (38 min.)

MEDIA 10-1684

 

The cats of Mirikitani c2006

Linda Hattendorf, Masa Yoshikawa, Lucid Dreaming (Firm), Independent Television Service, and Center for Asian American Media

"Jimmy Mirikitani survived the trauma of WWII internment camps, Hiroshima, and homelessness by creating art. But when 9/11 threatens his life on the New York City streets and a local filmmaker brings him to her home, the two embark on a journey to confront Jimmy's painful past. An intimate exploration of the lingering wounds of war and the healing powers of friendship and art."--Producers. 1 videodisc (74 min.)

DANA 365

 

Chris Burden a video portrait 1989

Chris Burden, Peter Kirby, and Dan Zimbaldi

During the early '70's, Chris Burden's shockingly simple, unforgettable performances took the jaded art world by surprise.  In this documentary, Chris Burden talks about his works of the past twenty years: from the performances of the '70's to the sculpture and installations of the '80's. 1 videocassette (28 min.)

DANA. MEDIA 1560 2-1614

 

Chuck Close eye to eye 1998

Chuck Close and Paul Tschinkel

On this program we look at the extraordinary career of Chuck Close, an artist who, working from photographs, has had a passionate interest in making portraits of his family and friends. 1 videocassette (35 min.)

DANA 1670

 

Claes Oldenburg 1996

Claes Oldenburg, Gerald Fox, and Jonathan Cooke

"Claes Oldenburg's over-scaled sculptures based on food and other domestic items brought him to prominence in the 1960s as one of the foremost exponents of the Pop Art Movement. In this film viewers visit the artist's New York studio, the Guggenheim Museum, and Petaluma, California, for the construction of Giant Houseball, and contemporaries Jim Dine and Roy Lichtenstein discuss the man and his art."--Container. 1 videocassette (54 min.)

DANA 891

 

Crumb 1995

David Lynch, Terry Zwigoff, Lynn O'Donnell , and R Crumb

A hilarious and mysterious journey through artistic genius and sexual obsession, Crumb is a wild ride through the mind of R. Crumb--cartoonist and creator of Zap Comix, Mr. Natural and Fritz the Cat. 1 videocassette (119 min.)

DANA 1751

 

Days of waiting the life and art of Estelle Ishigo 1990

Steven Okazaki and Dorothy Stroup

Documentary about artist Estelle Peck Ishigo, a Caucasian woman interned during World War II with her Japanese American husband at Heart Mountain Relocation Center, Wyoming.  Portrays through her words and drawings and through film and photographs, the deprivations and humiliations of camp life, and the difficulties of readjustment at war's end. 1 videocassette (28 min.)

MEDIA 2-3935

 

Dorothea Lange 1965-1966

Philip Greene, Robert Katz, Richard Moore, National Educational Television and Radio Center, KQED-TV (Television station : San Francisco, Calif.), Indiana University, and Audio-Visual Center

Under the trees: Discusses her involvement in her work, her philosophy as a photographer and the reasons and emotions which moved her to photograph particular scenes. Closer for me: Presents photographs which portray various periouds such as the depression, World War II, and growth or urban sprawl in contemporary California. 1 videocassette (ca. 60 min.)

MEDIA D-382

 

Drawing the line a portrait of Keith Haring 1989

Elisabeth Aubert, Gina Belafonte, and Keith Haring

Keith Haring was an artist who graduated from graffiti to being hailed as the successor to Warhol and Lichenstein.  He attempted to break the boundaries between the old and the new, while incorporating social issues into his art work. 1 videocassette (30 min.)

DANA. DOUGLASS 1481 144

 

Edward J. Steichen  1995

Kathleen de Be thune, Francois Le Bayon, Claude Waringo, Frederic Fichefet, Marc Schumacher, Jani Thiltges, Nick Storcy, Lynne Patak, and Eliot Larry

"Edward J. Steichen was considered by many 'the greatest portrait photographer of the 20th century.' He was world famous, creating the Family of Man exhibition, seen by over 9 million viewers....He was a major cultural force of the modern age, presenting Picasso in his own NY Gallery and reinventing modern fashion and war photography"--Container. 1 videocassette (55 min.)

DANA 1479

 

Eliot Porter's world 1988

Eliot Porter, Amertat Cohn, Peter Thomas, and Eleanor Morris Caponigro

Traces the development of Eliot Porter's career from his childhood on an island in Maine through his recent trips to Antartica and China.  Porter himself speaks about various aspects of his way of seeing, including how he developed his own personal aesthetics for color, which went against many of the best photographers of his time. 1 videocassette (30 min.)

DANA 295

 

Emma Amos action lines 1996

David K Irving, Emma Amos, Linda Freeman, Josh Stone, and Anna Deavere Smith

Emma Amos, an African American artist, talks about her life and her art. 1 videocassettes (28 min.)

MEDIA 2-3174

 

Everything is photograph profile of André Kertész 1989

André Kertész, John Misilli, and John Heck

Explores the life and work of Kertesz who discusses his art and reminisces, as he is filmed in his adopted city, New York. 1 videocassette (30 min.)

DANA 743

 

Faith Ringgold 1991

David K Irving and Linda Freeman

"Share an insider's look at how one African-American woman, through patience, perseverance and education fulfilled her dream of becoming an artist....A painter by profession, she has moved away from traditional framed canvases to 'tankas,' paintings on quilted canvas with frames of quilted fabric."--Container. 1 videocassette (28 min.)

DANA. MEDIA 760 2-3177

 

Faith Ringgold paints Crown Heights 1995

Faith Ringgold, Linda Freeman, Robert Farris Thompson, and David Irving

Faith Ringgold details the creation of the quilt she created to represent the diverse cultures and traditions comprising the area of Crown Heights in New York City. 1 videocassette (ca. 28 min.)

DOUGLASS 163

 

Faith Ringgold the last story quilt 1991

Faith Ringgold, David Irving, and Linda Freeman

Faith Ringgold discusses aspects of her childhood, incidents from her life, and her art education.  She talks about her artwork and shows it to the viewer. 1 videocassette (28 min.)

DOUGLASS 153

 

"First of May" a profile of artist Dorothy Gillespie 1984

Gerry McCarthy

Dorothy Gillespie discusses her life and work as an artist. Critics comment on her style and her importance to the women's art movement. 1 videocassette (ca. 30 min.)

DOUGLASS 44

 

Georgia O'Keeffe 198-?

Perry Miller Adato

Documentary that looks behind the Georgia O'Keeffe legend, showing her paintings, environment, and philosophy of the artist. 1 videocassette (60 min.)

MEDIA 2-1460

 

Golub 1996

Gordon Quinn, Jerry Blumenthal, and Leon Golub

Focuses on what happens when art meets current events head-on, in the work of American artist Leon Golub. Follows the artist as he creates one of his largest canvases -- from its early sketches to its first major exhibition, over a year later, in Derry, Northern Ireland. 1 videocassette (56 min.)

DANA. DANA 1597 1597

 

Hansel Mieth vagabond photographer c2003

Nancy Schiesari, Cooper Wood, Barcelona Films, Cinigma Pictures, and Filmakers Library, inc

One of the great social documentarians of the 20th century, Hansel Mieth captured the plight of the poor and the oppressed. Only the second woman to join LIFE mnagazine's staff, she quickly became one of its most prolific photographers. 1 videocassette (54 min.)

MEDIA 2-7530

 

Hockney the photographer 1983

Nick Evans, Don Featherstone, and David Hockney

Hockney participates in the making of a film about himself and his philosophy of photography as an art, and compares it to his paintings. 1 videocassette (55 min.)

ART 6

 

The House on the waterfall the story of Frank Lloyd Wright's masterpiece 1992

Mary Rawson and Bingo O'Malley

Explores Frank Lloyd Wright's acclaimed Fallingwater, in Bear Run, Pennsylvania, which was designed in 1936 for the Edgar Kaufmann family. 1 videocassette (30 min.)

DANA 291

 

Jackson Pollock 1987

Jackson Pollock, Jonathan Cooke, and Melvyn Bragg

Combines archival footage of Jackson Pollock's life and work with reminiscences from his contemporaries, and explores the truth and legends surrounding this controversial painter. 1 videocassette (52 min.)

DANA 730

 

Jackson Pollock love and death on Long Island 1999

Teresa Griffiths, Neil Pearson, and Jackson Pollock

Documentary tracing the life of the shy, brooding American abstract artist Jackson Pollock through interviews and archival footage. His controversial work and defiant attitudes made him at once a star and the scourge of the art world. In the end, his tragic death at the top of his career, cemented his image forever as the James Dean of artists. 1 videocassette (46 min.)

DANA 1818

 

Jacob Lawrence an intimate portrait 1993

Grover Babcock, Elvin Whitesides, Jacob Lawrence, Howard N Fox, and Lisa Vihos

Documents the life and work of Jacob Lawrence, through interviews with the painter, his wife Gwendolyn Knight, colleagues and critics interwoven with examples of his work. 1 videocassette (25 min.)

DANA 738

 

Jacob Lawrence the glory of expression  1993

Jacob Lawrence, David Irving, Linda Freeman, and Ossie Davis

"A documentary about the life and work of one of  America's great living painters, the first African-American to be represented by a New York gallery.  Emphasis is placed on the epic narratives he painted about the struggles of the African-American people."--Container. 1 videocassette (28 min.)

ART. DANA. MEDIA 2 761 2-3180

 

Jasper Johns ideas in paint 1989

Rick Tejada-Flores and Polly Adams

Examines the life, work, and inspiration of artist Jasper Johns, whose rich images of maps, flags, and targets led the artistic community away from Abstract Expressionism towards Pop Art and Minimalism.  Includes conversations with the painter and comments from various colleagues including John Cage and Merce Cunningham, and a trip to the 1988 Venice Biennale. 1 videocassette (56 min.)

DANA 732

 

Jasper Johns take an object 1998?, 1990

Hans Namuth, Judith Wechsler, Jon Wing Lum, James Rutenbeck, and Andrea Williams

A look at Jasper Johns at work in his Houston Street studio in New York, 1972, where he was re-doing a painting that he had done for the Montreal Fair; and in 1989, creating an etching from one of his works. 1 videocassette (30 min.)

DANA 1821

 

Jean-Michel Basquiat an interview 1989

Jean Michel Basquiat, Paul Tschinkel, and Marc H Miller

A rare interview with the 21 year old Basquiat in his studio on Crosby Street in 1981 by art historian-curator, Marc H. Miller. Basquiat describes his working process and comments on his art world persona. 1 videocassette (34 min.)

DANA 1