Skip to main content

The Newark Experience: 1967: The Newark "Riots"

Media Coverage

"Newark: the Predictable Insurrection"
Cover of Life for July 28, 1967.
Newark, The Predictable Insurrection: Shooting War in the Streets
July 28, 1967 issue of Life magazine. [Vol. 63, no.4].
Dana Call Number: NEWARK HV6483 .N5N49 1967
News Articles From the Events of July 1967
Digitized articles from the Newark Evening News July 13-16, 1967. From the Newark Public Library.
Newark 1967: Star-Ledger 1967
Digitized articles from the Newark Star-Ledger July 13-17, 1967. Part of the Ledger's excellent Newark 1967 site.
"Newark Riot Deaths at 21 as Negro Sniping Widens" New York Times, July 16, 1967
Newark, July 1967
New York Times photographs.
BBC Newsnight: The Newark Riots
Charles Wheeler report.
Collection of 1967 Newark Riots Newsclippings, 1967-1987.
Finding Aid to a collection in the Monsignor Field Archives & Special Collection Center, Seton Hall University. "[P]hotocopied newspaper and journal articles on the riots and their aftermath, as well as reactions in Newark, NJ to the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr...Publications represented include the Star-Ledger, the New York Times, the Daily News, Time magazine, Life magazine, Newsweek, the Newark Evening News, and the Advocate, a Catholic newspaper."
Urban Ghetto Riots, 1965-1968: A Comparison of Soviet and American Press Coverage.
Ann Kathleen Johnson. Thesis (Ph.D), University of Denver, 1994. Chapter 5 (pp. 178-253) examines coverage of the 1967 Newark and Detroit riots by theNew York Times, the Washington Post, the Newark Star Ledger, and the Detroit Free Press; Chapter 6 (pp. 254-300) examines the coverage of those riots by Pravda and Izvestiia.
Dana Call Number: PN4888 .R3J64 1994a [NEWARK plus STACKS].Available?

Documentaries

Newark: The Slow Road Back. NJN, 1987
1967 riots and their aftermath. Includes interviews with residents and notables such as Amiri Baraka, Bob Curvin, former Governor Richard Hughes, H. Rap Brown, and Steve Adubato, Sr.
Revolution '67. Rutgers-restricted Access Bongiorno Productions, 2007.
"Focuses on the explosive urban rebellion which erupted in Newark, New Jersey, in July 1967; a tragedy caused by similar problems that sparked race riots across America. The film takes viewers on a daily chronicle of events, including the calling of the State Police and National Guard, their occupation of the city and use of unnecessary firepower."
Dana Media Call Number: DVD 363
Race and Politics in America's Cities.
Films for the Humanities, 2008.
"On the 40th anniversary of the landmark Kerner Commission Report on civil unrest, this edition of the Journal spotlights former Oklahoma Senator Fred Harris, one of the last living members of the original Commission, who discusses the root causes of the 1960s riots that rocked Newark, Detroit, and other U.S. cities."
Dana Media Call Number: DVD 428
The Riot Makers.
Spectrum of Washington, D.C., Inc., 197-.
"Presents the thesis that the late 1960's riots, particulary in Watts and Newark, were the result of outside agitators who had Marxist-Leninist backgrounds."
Media (Douglass) Call Number: Video D-188

Videos

Book TV: No Cause for Indictment: The Explosive Story of the Newark Riots
New Jersey Historical Society panal discussion. Panel: Fred Bruning, Sally Carrol, Robert Curvin, Danny Schechter, and Leonard Weinglass.
[On 40th Anniversary of the Newark Rebellion, A Look Back]
Democracy Now broadcast on July 13, 2007.

The Newark "Riots"

Planning, Slum Clearance and the Road to Crisis in Newark.
David Levitus. A NewarkMetro Report. Looks at how Newark politics and policies of the 1940s and 1950s contributed to the conditions that resulted in the riots of 1967.
Application to the Department of Housing and Urban Development for a Grant to Plan a Comprehensive City Demonstration Program [Part IA]. April 1967.
Description of Newark submited as part of a Model Cities grant application.
New Jersey and the Near Collapse of Civic Culture: Reflections on the Summer of 1967
Clement Price. Speech delivered at the Commencement of the Rutgers Graduate School of Social Work, May 14, 2007.
Summer of Rage: An Oral History of the 1967 Newark and Detroit Riots
Max Arthur Herman. New York, Peter Lang, 2013. Available?
Silent No Longer: Voices of the 1967 Newark Race Riots.
Kimberly B. Siegal. Senior Thesis, Honors in American History, University of Pennsylvania, March 2006.
Oral history of the riots.
A View From the Firehouse: The Newark Riots
Neal Stoffers. East Brunswick, N.J., Springfield and Hunterdon Publishing, 2006. Available?
Fighting in the Streets: Ethnic Succession and Urban Unrest in Twentieth-Century America.
Max Arthur Herman. Peter Lang, 2005.
Comparative analysis of the major incidents of 20th century urban unrest in the U.S., including the 1967 riots in Newark and Detroit.
Dana Call Number: HV6477 .H57 2005 [NEWARK plus STACKS] Available?
"Violence in Newark,"
Paul J. Scheips. IN The Role of Federal Military Forces in Domestic Disorders, 1945-1992. Washington, D.C., Center of Military History, 2005, pp. 173-177.
Dana Call Number: VA25 .S34 2005 Available?
"The Occupation of Newark," 
Tom Hayden. New York Review of Books 9(3), August 24, 1967, 14-24.
Contemporary account of the riots.
Dana Call Number: Periodical, Shelved by Title
Rebellion in Newark: Official Violence and Ghetto Response.
Tom Hayden. New York, Vintage Books, 1967.
Dana Call Number: F144 .N6H27 [NEWARK plus STACKS] Available? Other Edition
No Cause for Indictment: An Autopsy of Newark.
Ron Porambo. Hoboken, N.J., Melville House, 2007.
Re-issue of journalist Ron Porambo's in-depth study of the riots and their aftermath. Based on extensive interviews. With an new introduction by Warren Slout and an afterward by Fred Bruning.
Dana Call Number: F144 .N6P6 2006 [NEWARK plus STACKS] Available?
No Cause for Indictment: An Autopsy of Newark.
Ron Porambo. New York, Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1971.
Dana Call Number: NEWARK HN79 .N33P6 1971a Available?
"Race Riots of 1967: An Analysis of Police Violence in Detroit and Newark,"
Albert Bergesen. Journal of Black Studies 12(3), March 1982, 261-274.
Examines the specific circumstances of death for each person killed during the 1967 Detroit and Newark riots. Rutgers-restricted Access
Urban Race Riots.
Introduction by Michael R. Belknap. New York, Garland Pub., 1991.
A volume of the Civil Rights, the White House, and the Justice Department, 1945-1968 series. Chronological arrangement of a wide range of documents (memos, letters, speeches, papers) dealing with the Detroit and Newark riots.
Alexander Call Number: F574 .D49N485 1991
Collective Violence and the Culture of Subordination: A Study of Participants in the July 1967 Riots in Newark, New Jersey, and Detroit, Michigan.
Jeffrey M. Paige. Thesis (Ph. D.), University of Michigan, 1968.
Dana Call Number: NEWARK HV6483 .N6P35 Available?
"Political Orientation and Riot Participation,"
Jeffrey M. Paige. American Sociological Review 36(5), October 1971, 810-820.
Based on a survey of 237 black males in Newark, analyzes the relationship between political trust, political efficacy, and riot participation. Rutgers-restricted Access
"Harvesting the Crisis: The Newark Uprising, the Kerner Commission, and Writings on Riots."
Kevin Mumford. IN African American Urban History Since World War II. Edited by Kenneth L. Kusmer and Joe W. Trotter. Chicago, University of Chicago Press, 2009. Chapter 10: pp. 203-209.
"This essay explores how various observers and experts described the motivation of 'riot participants' and how they interpreted the nature of the conflict."
Dana Call Number: E185.61 .A2393 2009 [NEWARK plus STACKS] Available?
Newark: A History of Race, Rights, and Riots in America.
Kevin J. Mumford. New York, New York University Press, 2007.
Dana Call Number: F144 .N6M86 2007 [NEWARK plus STACKS] Available?
Kevin Mumford Interview
Podcast. February 2008 interview with Mumford about his new book, Newark. A History of Race, Rights and Riots in America.
From Zion to Brick City: What's Going On?: Newark and the Legacy of the Sixties.
Linda Caldwell Epps. Thesis (D. Litt.), Drew University, 2010.
Dana Call Number: HV6483.N5E67 2010a [NEWARK plus STACKS] Available?
"Newark to New Orleans: The Myth of the Black Sniper,"
James Ridgeway & Jean Casella. MotherJones, July 16, 2007.
Containment: The Architecture of the 1967 Newark Riots.
Sean Patrick Dockray. 1999.
Using six newspapers as primary sources, Dockray examines the riots from an architectural point of view and concludes that "the rioting only began as such when a series of institutions defined certain actions as a "riot" and launched a complex struggle over the definition of space." Research supported by the Institute for Advanced Architecture

The Committee of Concern

Records of the Committee of Concern, 1965-1971, 1967-1968.
Newark, Rutgers-Newark Office of the Vice President. 3.75 cubic ft. (3 record cartons)
"The Committee of Concern was formed in 1967 in response to riots that took place in Newark, New Jersey. Its aim was to determine the causes for the riots and to formulate possible social and economic improvements. The records of the committee, maintained by Malcolm Talbot, co-chair of the committee and Vice President at Rutges-Newark, consists primarily of minutes of meetings, correspondence, reports, newspaper clippings, and related materials." Available?

Federal & State Investigations

United States. National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders. Report. Washington, Government Printing Office, 1968. Report of the Commission appointed by President Lyndon Johnson to investigate the riots that had occured in Newark and elsewhere in the U.S. Chapter one of what came to be known as the "Kerner Report" consists of "profiles of a selection of the disorders that took place during the summer of 1967. These profiles are designed to indicate how the disorders happened, who participated in them, and how local officials, police forces, and the National Guard responded." A pivotal report in the history of civil rights.
Dana Call Number: NEWARK HV6477 .A56 [New York Times edition: STACKS HV6477 .A56 1968b]

Supplemental Studies for the National Advisory Commission on Civil Rights. Washington, Government Printing Office, 1968.
Includes reports on Racial Attitudes in Fifteen American Cities by Angus Campbell and Howard Schuman; Between Black and White: The Faces of American Institutions in the Ghetto by Peter H. Rossi et al.; and Who Riots? A Study of Participation in the 1967 Riots by Robert M. Fogelson and Robert B. Hill. Dana Call Number: NEWARK HV6477 .A56 Suppl.

Racial Attitudes in Fifteen American Cities: 1968. Data files and documentation used in the study above. 2nd ICPSR version. Restricted Access

Newark Riots Papers, 1968
U.S. National Advisory Commission on Civil Disorders. "This collection consists of 3 archival boxes containing photocopies of presentments, reports and affidavits related to death and police abuse that occurred during the civil disturbances in Newark from July 13 through July 18, 1967." Newark Public Library. Call Number: N.J. Ref. MG NWK Riots (Main)

Subversive Influences in Riots, Looting, and Burning. Part.4: Newark, N.J. [Begins on p. 51]. Congress. House Un-American Activities Committee (HUAC). Washington, D.C., 1968. Hearings held on April 23 and 24, 1968 relating to the 1967 riots. Testimony from Captain Charles Kinney of the Newark Police Department who had been investigating the possibility of criminal conspiracy. Available?

The Kerner Commission: 40 Years Later. March 28, 2008. Video and transcript. Includes an interview with Fred Harris, one of the last living members of the original Kerner Commission.

New Jersey. Governor's Select Commission on Civil Disorder [Lilley Commission]. Report for Action: An Investigation into the Causes and Events of the 1967 Newark Race Riots. New York, Lemma Pub. Corp., 1972. Dana Call Number: NEWARK HN79 .N33A54 1972

Report and Hearing Transcripts. Over a six month period the Lilley commission held 65 meetings and examined 106 witnesses. The Rutgers Law Library has digitized some 6,000 pages of hearing transcripts and associated reports.

The Road to Anarchy. Finding of Riot Study Commission of the New Jersey State Patrolman's Benevolent Association, Inc. Jersey City, 1968.
The New Jersey PBA's own study found the conclusions of both the Kerner Commission and the Lilley Commission to be "unsubstantiated, unfounded and unwarrented." Available?

Parks, Brad. 40 years after the riots: A landmark report, ignored. A Star-Ledger Perspective.