Skip to main content

The Newark Experience: Social Services

Newark Welfare Division

Newark City Welfare Division
The Welfare Division of the Department of Child and Family Wellbeing provides temporary financial, medical, housing, and emergency assistance for single individuals, childless couples, and the indigent residents of Newark.

SERVES

Brick City SERVES: A Blueprint to Increasing Civic Engagement Newark, 2010.
"Newark’s comprehensive service plan...seeks to engage more Newarkers in service by channeling volunteers towards two of the Mayor’s key priorities: 1) Education, targeting mentoring and 2) Health and Wellness, focusing on childhood obesity."

Parolee Services

"Using GIS to Evaluate Post-Release Prisoner Services in Newark, New Jersey"
Jeff Mellow, Melinda D. Schlager, and Joel M. Caplan. Journal of Criminal Justice 36(5), September-October 2008, pp. 416-426. "This study utilized Geographic Information System (GIS) to assess the size, demographic characteristics, and needs of the Newark, New Jersey parolee population with the availability, location, and characteristics of health and human service agencies servicing their needs." Rutgers-restricted Access

Newark Community Resource Directory

Newark Community Resource Directory
"A listing of agencies in the Newark area that offer services to youth and their families." From the Newark Public Schools Office of Student Support Services.

Homelessness

Expanding the Pathways to Housing for Individuals with Complex Biosocial Challenges: A Comparison of Two Service Delivery Models for Homeless Individuals
Michael Simmons. Thesis (Ph.D.) Rutgers University New Brunswick, 2015.
"This dissertation investigates the ability of two service treatment systems—one focusing on a lifestyles and the other on a life-chances perspective—have in addressing barriers to self-sufficiency faced by homeless clients enrolled in the Newark (New Jersey) Department of Health and Human Services (NDHHS) Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) homeless program. "

Community-Based Organizations

Segregation and the Adaption of Community-Based Organizations to Multiethnic Immigration in Newark and Jersey City: 1990-2010
Joseph R. Gibbons. Ph.D Thesis. State University of New York at Albany, 2014.
"[N]onprofit community-based organizations (CBOs) have gained an increasingly central role in providing basic services to the urban needy. As of yet, there has been no systematic study to explore how segregation impacts the operation of CBOs. This dissertation employs a mixed methods research strategy to examine CBOs in Northern New Jersey to determine how the city and neighborhood effects of segregation impacts the operation of these organizations." Available?

Newark Female Charitable Society

Newark Female Charitable Society, 1803-1949
The Newark Historical Society has the records of the Society, including the Society's administrative records as well as reports from some of the auxiliary groups. Documents include minutes, financial records, a casebook, scrapbooks, work order books and correspondence.
The History of the Newark Female Charitable Society from the Date of Organization January 31st, 1803, to January 31st, 1903
Newark, The Society, 1903. Available?
Newark Female Charitable Society: History, 1903-1953
Anna M. McConnell. Newark, N.J., The Society, 1953. Available?
Annual Report
Newark, N.J., Newark Female Charitable Society. Available?

Social Services: 19th and 20th Centuries

"Somebody Cared"; One Hundred Years of Social Work, Commemorating Newark Charter Centennial, 1836-1936.
Newark, Welfare Federation of Newark, 1936. Available?
Common Council: Committee on Poor and Alms, Reports and Minutes, 1836-1917
City of Newark Archives and Records Management Center. The Committee on Poor and Alms regularly visited and oversaw the running of the Newark Alms House.. More...
Association for Children of New Jersey: Records of Various Newark Children's Aid Organizations, 1847-1965
New Jersey Historical Society collection includes records of a number of organizations devoted to assistance to orphans and other needy children in Newark. More...
Immigrants as Charity Seekers. Vol. II: General Tables
Reports of the Immigration Commission. Presented by Mr. Dillingham, December 5, 1910. Washington, DC, Government Printing Office, 1911.
Newark Tables pp. 715-740.
Relief in Newark, 1929-1933
Warren Grover. M.A. Thesis, New York University, 1962. Available?
Mount Carmel Guild of the Archdiocese of Newark Records, 1929-1979
Collection at the William Noe Field Archives and Special Collections Center at Seton Hall University. More...
Neighbors in Need: A Survey of 10,000 Relief Families in New Jersey: Report Number 1
Newark, N.J., New Jersey Emergency Relief Administration, 1935.
"The purpose of this Survey is to answer the question: 'Who are the people on relief?'" 2,754 of the 10,000 cases surveyed were from Newark. Available?
Minutes from the October 28, 1949 Displaced Persons Committee meeting in Newark.
New Jersey Welfare Council. Displaced Persons Committee.
Annual Welfare Report
Newark, N.J., Department of Health and Welfare. Division of Public Welfare. Available?

Newark Social Settlement Associations

A Prospectus of the Newark Social Settlement Association
Newark, N.J., Newark Social Settlement Association, 1905.
Newark Public Library
"The Newark Social Settlement Association"
The New Jersey Review of Charities and Corrections 4(1), February, 1905, pp. 17-18.
Announcing the formation of a settlement association in Newark.
The Newark Social Settlement Association, Newark, N.J.
5 images
Newark Neighborhood House
One page report, circa 1903. The Neighborhood House was opened by the Newark Social Settlement Association in 1905. "The 'Ironbound District' has been chosen for the first settlement partly because of its cosmopolitan nature and partly because it is the heart of the great factory district."
Newark Settlement House, c.1903.
Letter from Newark Neighborhood House to W.E.B. Du Bois, April 7, 1905
"Concerning their plan for an African American social settlement in Newark New Jersey. Requesting reccomendation for African American woman to head up establishment of settlement. "
Letter from Newark Social Settlement Association to W.E.B. Du Bois, June 1, 1905
"Reporting results of decision to hire Sarah Hunt as head Resident of Negro Settlement House."
"A Work Camp Program for Potential Delinquents"
Antoinette Fried. The Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science 322, March 1959, pp. 38-46.
"Fuld Neighborhood House in Newark, New Jer- sey, has for the past two summers sponsored a Work Camp Project in an attempt to combat delinquent trends by offering teen-agers both paid work in accordance with their abilities and the guidance and leadership of trained social workers."