Skip to main content

The Newark Experience: Fire Dept.

Newark Fire Department

Newark Fire Museum

Newark Fire Museum.
Current exhibits.

Newark Fire Museum
Brief history and many photos from Museum collections. Thomas W. Aurnhammer's BuffaloHeadFire.com page.

Newark Fires

"The Newark Factory Fire,"
McClure's Magazine 36(6), April 1911, 663-672. Detailed account of the November 26, 1910 fire in a Newark factory and the conditions that resulted in the deaths of 25 female employees. Rutgers-restricted Access

Warren Petroleum Corporation Propane Fire and Explosion, Port Newark, N.J., July 7, 1951
National Board of Fire Underwriters, 1951. Available?

OSHA Oversight--Texaco Tank Facility, Newark, N.J., Fire and Explosion on January 7, 1983
Hearings before the Subcommittee on Health and Safety of the Committee on Education and Labor, House of Representatives, Ninety-Eighth Congress, First Session, Washington, D.C., June 14, 21, 1983.

Firefighting in Newark

Newark Fire Department History...1797-2014
The Firehouse Fraternity: An Oral History of the Newark Fire Department
Neal Stoffers. Springfield and Hunterdon Pub., 2007-
6 volumes. Available?
Newark Fire Department
Newark Fire Department, Marceline, Mo., Walsworth, 1977.
Includes a history of the Newark Fire Department, but mostly consists of photographs of events, equipment, and (contemporary) personnel. Available?
Newark Paid Fire Department, Newark, N.J.: History
Newark, N.J., 1917. Available?
The Newarker. 4(11), September 1915.
Special issue devoted to the Newark Fire Department.
Article of Association and System of Organization & Regulation for the Newark Fire Association.
Newark, Printed by Daniel Dodge & Co., 1797. Rutgers-restricted Access
A Morning Alarm
Film. Edison Manufacturing Co., 1896. "Shows a Newark fire company just leaving the engine house. The doors open, the horses prance, and the spectators hurry to get a good look at the start."
Historical Record of Union Hook & Ladder Co., No. 1, from October 31, 1836 to October 31, 1886.
Newark, N.J., Ward & Tichenor, 1886. Available?
Hook and Ladder no. 3, Newark, N.J.
Postcard. ca. 1907-1913.
Report of Instructor Training Course for Officers of the Fire Departments in Newark and Vicinity
Trenton, N.J., New Jersey Dept. of Public Instruction, Vocational Division. 1932. Available?
"The Newark [N.J.] Fire Department: Manpower, Methods and Equipment,"
M.P. Duffy. American City November 1936, pp. 50-52. Available?
Newark Fire Station Location Survey
Newark, N.J., Bureau of Municipal Research, 1956. Available?
A View From the Firehouse: The Newark Riots
Neal Stoffers. East Brunswick, N.J., Springfield and Hunterdon Publishing, 2006. Available?
Newark Fire Department Recruitment Poster
English and Spanish. 1977

Archival Collections

Theodore Vrana Papers (ca.1783-1960s).
New Jersey Historical Society collection. "The collection consists of research materials compiled by "fire buff" Theodore (Ted) Vrana (b. 1906) of Morristown, NJ, for a comprehensive history of the Newark Fire department." More from the Newark Archives project.
Newark Fire Department Collection (ca. 1805-1972).
Newark Public Library Collection. "The Newark Fire Department Collection contains original documents, historical writings, and notes relating to the Newark Fire Department in general and to individual companies, and background material on a variety of fire-related topics." More from the Newark Archives Project.
Newark Common Council: Fire Committee (1856-1902).
Newark Archives and Records Management Center collection. "The Fire Committee inspected fire department buildings; received petitions from property owners regarding removal of and alterations to buildings; approved expenditures for the fire department, authorized purchases and approved the payment of bills; heard testimony from members of the fire department regarding grievances, the needs of widows and orphans of fireman, and other matters....More from the Newark Archives Project.
Newark Fire Engine Company No.1 Minute Book. (1799-1801)
New Jersey Historical Society collection. More from the Newark Archives Project.
Journals, 1893-1905.
Newark Fire Department. Engine Company no. 9. 13 volumes.
New Jersey Historical Society Collection. More from the Newark Archives Project.
Journals, 1899-1907
Newark, N.J., Fire Department. Engine Company no. 2. 3 volumes. Available?