Skip to main content

The Newark Experience: City Directories

City Directories in Rutgers Special Collections

Finding N.J. Directories

Special Collections and University Archives has some 800 New Jersey city directories in their collection. Many of these have been cataloged; to search for cataloged Newark directories, click on the subject keywords below:

See above for a finding aid to the complete city directory collection.

The Rutgers Libraries also have some large compilations of New Jersey city directories on microfilm/microfiche. See below for a partial list of NJ city directories available on microfilm in the Alexander Library.

City Directories of the United States, 1860-1901 : Guide to the Microfilm Collection. -- Woodbridge, CT : Research Publications, 1983, c1984.
Includes index to the contents of the two Research Publications microfilm sets (U.S. City Directories, 1861-1881 and U.S. City Directories, 1882-1901).
Alex Call Number: Ref. E154.7C57 1983

The Charles Cummings New Jersey Information Center at the Newark Public Library has an extensive collection of New Jersey city directories. While directories for all parts of the state are included, the collection is particularly strong for Newark and other Essex county municipalities.

City Directories on Microfilm

This is a partial list of what is available. For Newark, includes the 1902-1935 directories.

Newark City Directories

Glenn Geisheimer maintains a list of collections holding specific Newark City Directories on his Old Newark site.

History

"Benjamin Thompson Pierson and His Newark Directories,"
Ione M. Sonn. Proceedings of the New Jersey Historical Society 79(1), January 1961, 21-37.
From the first Newark directory compiled by Pierson in 1835 to his last in 1862.
Dana Call Number: Periodical, Shelved by Title

1835-1860

New Jersey City Directories, 1835-1860 [microform]
Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, Inc., [198-?]
226 microfiche
Contents: New Jersey -- Camden -- Jersey City -- Newark -- New Brunswick -- Paterson -- Trenton.
Part of the City directories of the United States through 1860, a compilation based on Spear, Dorothea N. Bibliography of American directories through 1860, Worcester, Mass.: American Antiquarian Society, 1961.[Dana Call Number: Ref. Z5771 .S7]
Alex Call Number: Microfiche 260
Directory of Newark for 1835-6: With an Historical Sketch.
Newark, 1836.
Name index, with links to the original scanned pages, to the first Newark city directory. Includes the historical sketch.
Directory of the City of Newark for 1838-9, With an Historical Sketch.
Newark, N.J., B.T. Pierson, 1838.
1840-41 City Directory for Newark, New Jersey
Pierson, B.T. Directory of the City of Newark for 1849-50. Newark, 1849.
Dana Call Number: In Process
Directory of the City of Newark for 1851-52.
17th edition. By B.T. Pierson. Newark N.J., Holbrook's Steam Press, 1851.
Directory of the City of Newark, for 1852-53.
B.T. Pierson. Eighteenth Edition. Newark, N.J., A. Stephen Holbrook, Printer, 1852.
Lots of ads.

1861-1881

U.S. City Directories, 1861-1881 : New Jersey [microform]
Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, Inc, [1984?]
20 reels of microfilm
Contents: [pt.1.] Jersey City (7 reels) -- [pt. 2.] Newark (10 reels) -- [pt. 3.] Paterson (3 reels).
Alex Call Number: Microfilm 2413

1882-1901

U.S. City Directories, 1882-1901 : New Jersey [microform]
Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, Inc., [1984?]
32 reels of microfilm
Contents: [pt. 1.] Jersey City (9 reels) -- [pt. 2.] Newark (17 reels) -- [pt. 3.] Paterson (6 reels)
Alex Call Number: Microfilm 2414

1902-1935

United States City Directories--Newark, N.J. [Segment IV: 1902-1935] [microform]
Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, [198-]-1987.
26 microfilm reels
Alex Call Number: Microfilm 2667