Skip to main content

The Newark Experience: Finding Articles

New Jersey Index

Newark Public Library's New Jersey Newspaper & Periodical Index selectively indexes New Jersey material in local and regional magazines.

New Jersey History

New Jersey History

The premier journal for articles relating to the history of New Jersey is New Jersey History, formerly (1845-1966) published as the Proceedings of the New Jersey Historical Society.

The 1845 to 1995 volumes of this journal are indexed in Periodicals Index Online. Restricted Access

Volumes 124 (2009) to 127 (2013) of New Jersey History are available only online.

New Jersey History back to 1845 is available in print in Dana.

Most of the 1856 to 1923 volumes of the Proceedings have been scanned and are available from the Universal Library of the Internet Archive. Volumes are available in multiple formats; to change formats select "Details" and then "More Details."

Scanned as one 742 page document. Patience required!

Volumes of the first series of the Proceedings are available from the Hathi Trust::

Other Indexes

America: History and Life 1964- . The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations.Restricted Access.

American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900 The full text of articles, advertisements, illustrations etc., from American popular and literary magazines and journals that began publication between 1741 and 1900. Search by author, title, article type, publication title, date, and keywords in the full-text. Restricted Access.

Public Affairs Information Service 1915- Index to books, reports, government documents, and journals dealing with political, social, and public policy issues. Restricted Access

Sociologial Abstracts 1963- Index to approximately 1800 scholarly and professional journals in sociology and related disciplines, as well as to books reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers. Restricted Access

There are many other indexes that may focus more specifically on the aspect of Newark that you are researching. Check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.