Local Resources
General
Lender, Mark Edward. One State in Arms: A Short Military History of New Jersey. Trenton: New Jersey Historical Commission, Department of State, 1991.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ F134.L5 1991
ALEXANDER DOCNJ F134.L5 1991 [2 copies]
ROBESON STACKS F134.L5 1991 [2 copies]
DANA DOCNJ F134.L5 1991
DOUGLASS STACKS F134.L5 1991
Rutgers Oral History Archives (Website of the Rutgers University History Department)
"The Rutgers Oral History Archives of World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War and the Cold War, […]is an enterprise to record the personal experiences of the men and women who served on the home front and overseas. It is based on in-depth interviews of individuals who lived through these conflicts, beginning with an initial target group of Rutgers College alumni and Douglass College alumnae (formerly New Jersey College for Women)."
American Revolution
Sinclair, Donald Arleigh and Grace W. Schut. The American Revolution and New Jersey: A Bibliography. New Brunswick, NJ: Special Collections and University Archives, Rutgers University Libraries, 1995.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E263.N5S61 1995
ALEXANDER REF E263.N5S61 1995
ROBESON STACKS E263.N5S61 1995
Beck, Clark. Revolutionary War Manuscripts in Special Collections and Archives, Rutgers University Libraries. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Libraries, Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, [1995?]
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E209.R87 1995
ROBESON X E209.R87 1995
New Jersey Historical Records Survey Project. Index of the Official register of the Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Revolutionary War. Newark, NJ, The Historical Records Survey, 1941.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ CS25.N532AO index
New Jersey. Adjutant-General's Office. Records of Officers and Men of New Jersey in Wars, 1791-1815. Trenton, NJ, State Gazette Publishing Co., 1909.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ CS25.N532R 1791-1815
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJF E359.5.N4N3
ALEXANDER STACKS CS25.N532R 1791-1815
Civil War
Adjutant-General's Office. Register of the Commissioned Officers and Privates of the New Jersey Volunteers, in the Service of the United States. Jersey City: John H. Lyon, 1863.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ CS25.N532ARe
ALEXANDER STACKS UA342.A5 1863
Available online through RUL's contribution to the Internet Archive.
Tooms, Samuel. New Jersey Troops in the Gettysburg Campaign from June 5 to July 31, 1863. Orange, NJ: The Evening Mail Publishing House, 1888.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E475.51.T67
ROBESON X E475.51.T67
ANNEX STACKS E475.51.T67
Foster, John Y. New Jersey and the Rebellion: A History of the Services of the Troops and People of New Jersey in the Aid of the Union Cause. Newark, NJ: Martin R. Dennis & Co., 1868.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E521.F75.1868
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E521.F75 1996 [reprint]
ALEXANDER DOCNJ E521.F75
DANA STACKS E521.F75
Available online through RUL's contribution to the Internet Archive.
Bilby, Joseph G. Forgotten Warriors: New Jersey's African American Soldiers in the Civil War. Hightstown, NJ: Longstreet House, 1993.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E540.N3B55 1993
DANA STACKS E540.N3B55 1993
Gillette, William. Jersey Blue: A Reappraisal of Civil War Politics in New Jersey, 1854-1865. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 1995.
Special Collections also has a 2 volume set of the manuscript of this work, which consists of, "mainly the uncut, uncorrected, unedited version of the running text, notes and index." The manuscript was subsequently edited down to meet the publisher's stipulations.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ F138.G55 1995
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ F138.G556 1995 v.1 & 2
ALEXANDER STACKS F138.G55 1995
CAMDEN STACKS F138.G55 1995
DANA STACKS F138.G55 1995
DOUGLASS STACKS F138.G55 1995
New Jersey Historical Society. Civil War Newspapers. [New Jersey?: New Jersey Historical Society, 1986?]
SPCOL/UA SNCNJF E464.N55 1986 v. 1-3
Sellers, John R., comp. Civil War Manuscripts: A Guide to Collections in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress. Compiled by John R. Sellers. Washington: Manuscript Division, Library of Congress, 1986.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E468.L48 1986
ALEXANDER STACKS Z1242.L48 1986
ALEXANDER REF Z1242.L48 1986
Siegel, Alan A. Beneath the Starry Flag: New Jersey's Civil War Experience. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2001.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E521.S54 2001
ALEXANDER STACKS E521.S54 2001
DANA STACKS E521.S54 2001
Sinclair, Donald Arleigh. A Guide to New Jersey and Other Civil War Manuscripts in the Special Collections and University Archives of Rutgers University. New Brunswick, NJ: Special Collections and University Archives, 2003.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ Z1313.S56 2003
ALEXANDER STACKS Z1313.S56 2003
Civil War: Selected Regimental Histories
Baquet, Camille. History of the First Brigade, New Jersey Volunteers. Trenton: MacCrellish & Quigley, State Printers, 1910.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E521.4.B222
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E521.B22 1988 [reprint]
ALEXANDER STACKS E521.B22
ALEXANDER STACKS E521.B22 1988 [reprint]
ROBESON STACKS E521.B22 1988 [reprint]
Available online through RUL's contribution to the Internet Archive.
Haines, Alanson A. History of the Fifteenth Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers. New York: Jenkins & Thomas, 1883.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E521.H153H
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E521.5.15th 1883b [1987 reprint]
ALEXANDER E521.5.15th [2 copies]
Available online through RUL's contribution to the Internet Archive.
Hanifen, Michael. History of Battery B, First New Jersey Artillery. [Ottawa, IL: Republican-Times, Printers, 1905].
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E521.7 1st B
Marbaker, Thomas D. History of the Eleventh New Jersey Volunteers, from Its Organization to Appomattox; to Which is Added Experiences of Prison Life and Sketches of Individual Members....Trenton: MacCrellish & Quigley, 1898.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E521.5.11th
Pyne, Henry R. The History of the First New Jersey Cavalry, (Sixteenth Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers). Trenton: J.A. Beecher, 1871.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E521.6 1st 2000z [reprint]
SPCOL/UA SNCLX E521.6 1st
ALEXANDER STACKS E521.6 1st
Available online through RUL's contribution to the Internet Archive.
Pyne, Henry R. Ride to War, the History of the First New Jersey Cavalry. Edited with an Introduction and Notes by Earl Schenck Miers. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, [1961].
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E521.6 1st.P93
ALEXANDER STACKS E521.6 1st.P93
ROBESON STACKS E521.6 1st.P93
CARR STACKS E521.6 1st.P93
Tooms, Samuel. Reminiscences of the War, Comprising a Detailed Account of the Experiences of the Thirteenth Regiment, New Jersey Volunteers, in Camp, on the March, and in Battle. Orange, NJ: Printed at the Journal office, 1878.
SPCOL/UA E521.T672R
SPCOL/UA E521.5 13thT 1878a
Spanish-American War
McNally, Bernard, comp. Soldiers and Sailors of New Jersey in the Spanish-American War, Embracing A Chronological Account of the Army and Navy. Newark, NJ, B. McNally, 1898.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ E726.N4Ml
Monmouth County and the Spanish-American War: Newspaper Clippings from the Monmouth Democrat, Freehold, New Jersey. Lincroft, NJ: Monmouth County Genealogy Society, 2001.
SPCOL/UA SNCLNJ F142.M7M65 2001
