Citation and Writing Tools
Zotero
Zotero, a freely available tool created by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University, is the most popular citation manager among historians. The Rutgers Zotero Guide provides a good overview.
RefWorks
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that enables you to:
- Organize your research
- Import references from many electronic databases
- Include citations while you write your paper
- Build a bibliography according to different stylesheets (APA, MLA, etc.)
- Create a bibliography in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
Rutgers updated to RefWorks 3 in 2017. For more detailed information on logging into Refworks for the first time, or for updating to RefWorks 3, see this illustrated guide.
Other Writing/Citing Tools
Other Digital Tools and Activities
Rutgers Digital Humanities Initiative
The DHI's home page links to a calendar of events and to DH projects at Rutgers. The New Brunswick Libraries also offers many workshops on DH tools.
Digital Tools from CHNM
- Omeka is "a web publishing platform for museums, historical societies, scholars, enthusiasts, and educators. Omeka provides cultural institutions and individuals with easy-to-use software for publishing collections and creating attractive, standards-based, interoperable online exhibits."
- Tropy: "a software tool that allows researchers to collect and organize the digital photographs that they take in their research, add information to those photos individually or in bulk, using customizable templates, and export both photographs and associated information to other platforms.
