Videos on the U.S. and American Studies

The civilians' story Albert Kahn's archive of the planet 2009

Saskia Baron, Nicola Seare, David Okuefuna , Veronika Hyks, British Broadcasting Company, Musée Albert Kahn, and Films for the Humanities & Sciences (Firm)

"In addtion to documenting the Great War, Albert Kahn's team of photographers recorded the impact of the conflict on French civilian ife. This program examines offerings from Kahn's Archive of the Planet, exploring both the propaganda value and the genuine emotional power in images of the war-torn French populace. French and Belgian refugees, ruined churches, and farms tended by women and the elderly are a few of the subjects rendered in exquisite and moving detail. Soissons smolders after a German retreat; Reims and its shattered cathedral hover on the edge of total destruction; and the Alsace region, Kahn's birthplace, regains its French identity ."--Container. 1 videodisc (52 min.) :

MEDIA 10-2819

 

Dans les tranchées, l'Afrique l'aventure ambiguë 2004

Florida Sadki, Jean-Pierre Koita, France 3 cinéma (Firm), and Médiathčque des trois mondes

Jean-Pierre Koita tells a moving story about his father, Demba Koita, a sixteen-year-old youth from Senegal who fought in World War I for France.  It is the first time that French soldiers and colonial soldiers fought together in the trenches. 1 videodisc (52 min.)

MEDIA 10-653

 

Europe after the fire Albert Kahn's archive of the planet 2009

Saskia Baron, Nicola Seare, David Okuefuna , Veronika Hyks, British Broadcasting Company, Musée Albert Kahn, and Films for the Humanities & Sciences (Firm)

"Versailles, 1919: French banker Albert Kahn and his camera team are among the few photographers allowed inside the Hall of Mirrors for the treaty signing -- an example of Kahn's uncanny talent for documenting change. This program focuses on Kahn's pictorial record of the war's aftermath and the challenges of securing a true peace across Europe. Zeppelin-borne aerial footage conveys the scope of the destruction, while grave-digging and burial scenes evoke the staggering number of combatants killed. Other events and subjects include the influx of foreign workers that filled France's labor void; the French occupation of the Rhineland; German breadlines and Paris dance-halls; and war monuments in London and Verdun."--Container. 1 videodisc (52 min.) :

MEDIA 10-2820

 

The Great War and the shaping of the 20th century c1996

Analyzes the entrance of the U.S. into the war, the collapse of Germany, the difficulties involved with waging peace, and recovery. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA 10-5536

 

The soldiers' story Albert Kahn's archive of the planet 2009

Mick Conefrey, Veronika Hyks, Saskia Baron , David Okuefuna, British Broadcasting Company, Musée Albert Kahn, and Films for the Humanities & Sciences (Firm)

"As World War I engulfed his country, Albert Kahn struck a deal with the French army: his team of photographers would capture images and footage that helped the war effort in exchange for direct access to militarized zones. A century later, this program presents the results -- revealing the life and environment of the French soldier as recorded in Kahn's Archive of the Planet. The visual details of trench warfare and all its misery are combined with pictures from towns, hospitals, and barracks a few miles from the front -- evoking the humanity of the ordinary fighting man as well as the appalling devastation wrought by the era's instruments of death. Contains graphic images of war wounds. "--Container. 1 videodisc (52 min.) :

MEDIA 10-2818

 

Dans les tranchées, l'Afrique l'aventure ambiguë 2004

Florida Sadki, Jean-Pierre Koita, France 3 cinéma (Firm), and Médiathčque des trois mondes

Jean-Pierre Koita tells a moving story about his father, Demba Koita, a sixteen-year-old youth from Senegal who fought in World War I for France.  It is the first time that French soldiers and colonial soldiers fought together in the trenches. 1 videodisc (52 min.)

MEDIA 10-653

 

France, 1904-1912 the enemy below 1989

Noël Burch

Examines the appeal of early French cinema to the working class audience and the populist themes that dominated the earliest films. Shows how bourgeois values found their way into popular cinema only with the devistataions of the First World War. 1 videocassette (26 min.)

MEDIA 2-675

 

Germany and the Eastern Front ; The loss of innocence 1994, 1988

John Sharnik, Isaac Kleinerman, and Robert Ryan

Two episodes of the eleven-part documentary series World War I.  Germany and the Eastern Front traces Germany's war with Russia leading to Russia's eventual collapse into revolution and surrender.  The loss of innocence traces the American public's unification in support of the Allied cause, the dough-boy as a national hero, and the U.S. government's wartime propaganda and regulation. 1 videocassette (ca. 97 min.)

MEDIA 2-2430

 

Germany awake! 1985

Erwin Leiser

A documentary on the World War II German motion picture and its use as a propaganda tool. Clips from more than 20 films made between 1933 and 1945. 1 videocassette (90 min.)

MEDIA 2-478

 

The Great War c1996

Henry Nevison, Dana Palermo, William Hewitt, Charles Hardy, Hollis Payer, InVision Communications, and Schlessinger Video Productions

American neutrality and the road to war; the Doughboys; the War Industries Board; the Great Migration; Espionage and Sedition acts; the American Expeditionary Force in Europe; Wilson's Fourteen Points; the Strikes of 1919; the Red Scare and the Palmer Raids. 1 videocassette (ca. 35 min.)

MEDIA 2-6610

 

The Great War--1918 1990

David G McCullough, Eric Sevareid, Tom Weidlinger, and Judy Crichton

Chronicles the story of United States soldiers in the closing battle of World War I as it was told through the letters and diaries of men including General John J. (Blackjack) Pershing, Sergeant Alvin York, and Sergeant Harry S. Truman. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA 2-4017

 

The Great War  Episode Eight, War without end  1996

Margaret Koval, Carl Byker, Salome Jens, J. M Winter, and Blaine Baggett

Explores the aftermath of World War I and the failed peace. For the "lost generation", the war would be without end. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-2985  2-4190

 

The Great War Episode Five, Mutiny and the shaping of the 20th century 1996

J. M Winter, Blaine Baggett, Carl Byker, and Salome Jens

Examines the toll that the war was taking on the soldiers and civilians by 1917. Unrest on the homefront and mutiny on the Western Front posed vexing problems for political leaders and military planners. On the Eastern Front, resentment toward the war effort would turn into rebellion and the Russian revolution. Includes lengthy reference to the shellshock disease. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-2982 2-4187

 

The Great War  Episode Four, Slaughter  and the shaping of the 20th century 1996

Isaac Mizrachi, Salome Jens, Carl Byker, Blaine Baggett, and  J. M Winter

Examines the military operations of the Western Front through the eyes of the soldiers who manned the trenches and fought the battles. Through study of the battles of Verdun, the Somme and Passchendaele, a social portrait of the common soldier is developed and analyzed. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-2981 2-4186

 

The Great War  Episode One, Explosion and the shaping of the 20th century 1996

Carl Byker, Salome Jens, J. M Winter, and Blaine Baggett

An overview of the complex political economical and social balance of the European powers at the beginning of the 20th century; an analysis of Germany's isolation under Wilhelm II, the rise of her economic and military strength; the deep and immediate causes of the First World War. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-2978 2-4183

 

The Great War Episode Seven, Hatred & hunger and the shaping of the 20th century 1996

Margaret Koval, Salome Jens, Joe Augier, Carl Byker, Blaine Baggett, and J. M Winter

This episode examines the end of World War I with emphasis on unresolved issues from the Balkans to the Middle East. World War I brought the collapse of four empires, the death of nine million soldiers and the ruin of much of Europe. The struggle to rebuild lives, countries and governments would set the stage for an even greater catastrophe a generation later. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-2984 2-4189

 

The Great War Episode Six, Collapse and the shaping of the 20th century 1996

Blaine Baggett, J. M Winter, Cynthia Crompton, and Salome Jens

Analyzes the entrance of the U.S. into the war, the collapse of Germany, the difficulties involved with waging peace, and recovery. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-2983 2-4188

 

The Great War Episode three, Total war and the shaping of the 20th century 1996

J. M Winter, Blaine Baggett, Carl Byker, Lyn Goldfarb, David Mrazek, and Salome Jens

Examines the evolution of World War I from a conflict fought across the landscape of Europe to a global war. Covers extent of the war in Great Britain and Turkey; the use of terror in modern war and the evolution of "total war", especially regarding aerial and chemical weapons, the first 20th century genocide--the Armenian genocide. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-2980 2-4185

 

The Great War Episode two, Stalemate and the shaping of the 20th century 1996

Isaac Mizraki, Mitch Wilson, Salome Jens, Carl Byker, J. M Winter, and Blaine Baggett

Examines the military operations of 1914, with emphasis on the Western Front. Almost from the outset, World War I became a stalemate with a line of trenches stretching from the Swiss Alps to the English Channel. This episode explores why the war devolved into one of trench warfare. Includes life sequences from the truce for Christmas Eve, 1914. 1 videocassette (58 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-2979 2-4184

 

Killing fields, 1914 1998

David Espar, Peter Pagnamenta, Zvi Dor-Ner, Alfre Woodard, and Bill Treharne Jones

In August 1914, the people of Europe were swept into the first of the wars that would make this century the bloodiest ever. Seventy million soldiers from more than twenty countries marched off to do their duty. In this film soldiers from all sides give a personal account of the trenches and the tactics--and the terrible nature and scale of the slaughter that shattered the old world order. In the end, four empires collapsed and nine million gave their lives. Some became pacificts while others sought retribution and many found themselves fighting another war only two decades later. 1 videocassette (56 min)

MEDIA 2-3840

 

Lost peace, 1919 1998

Daniel Brittain-Catlin and John Forsythe

After the First World War a whole generation was traumatized by the horror of war and vowed that war would be a thing of the past. This film revists the popular hopes and experiences in the years following World War I--and the looming threat of a new nationalism. Despite Woodrow Wilson's promise of a "people's peace", defeated nations were resentful and unreconciled. As fascism and militarism spread, worldwide pacifist movements fought an increasingly unsuccessful rearguard action to preserve the dream of peace. 1 videocassette (56 min)

MEDIA    MEDIA.    MEDIA 2-4088a     2-3842         2-5622

 

Memories of Berlin the twilight of Weimar culture 1976

Gary Conklin

Using archival footage and current interviews, the film documents Berlin's role as a cultural center from the end of World War I to the rise of the Hitler regime. 1 videocassette (72 min.)

MEDIA D-385

 

Men of bronze c2001

William Miles, Adolph Caesar, Direct Cinema Ltd, Men of Bronze, Inc, and WNET (Television station : New York, N.Y.)

Photographs, interviews with veterans, and film from the French and American National Archives are used to recount the saga of the black American soldiers of the 369th combat regiment, known as the "Harlem Hellfighters," who served with the French Army in World War I. 1 videocassette (60 min.)

MEDIA 2-6672

 

Music in time 1982

James Galway and Derek Bailey

The cataclysm of the first World War and the events leading to WWII had a profound effect on music. Stravinsky's work expresses his shock at the Barbarism just beneath the veneer of civilized society. Joplin's rags spearheaded the exploration of jazz and its influence on Stravinsky, Hindemith, Prokofiev, and Milhaud. 1 videocassette (60 min.)

MUSIC 40

 

Nesse Godin remembers 199-?

Nesse Godin

Nesse Godin describes how World War II came to her home town of Shaulai, Lithuania, and her experiences in forced labor and concentration camps. 1 videocassette (ca. 32 min)

MEDIA 2-1818

 

Never again? genocide since the Holocaust 2002

Robert J Emery, Manoug Manougian, Jack Sandler, Jon Voight, and David Mann

"After the atrocities of World War II, the cry of conscience was 'Never again!'  As this program demonstrates, that bitterly learned injunction went unheeded throughout much of the world."--Container. 1 videocassette (57 min.)

MEDIA 2-5848

 

Nuremberg 1997

Stephen Trombley, Bruce Eadie, and James Faulkner

Entirely composed of historical footage, including some newly discovered archival films, this documentary covers the trials against war criminals which were convened in Nuremberg after World War II. 1 videocassette (50 min.)

MEDIA 2-6032

 

Other campaigns ; A change in war 1994, 1988

John Sharnik, Isaac Kleinerman, and Robert Ryan

Two episodes of the eleven-part documentary series World War I.  Other campaigns traces Italy's war with Austria in the Alps, the tide of nationalism which sweeps the Balkans, the fall of the Ottoman Empire, and British attacks upon the outposts of the crumbling Ottoman Empire in Arabia under T. E. Lawrence--Lawrence of Arabia--which culminated in the conquest of Jerusalem.  A change in war traces the new prominence of airplanes as military weapons and examines the turning tide toward the Allied cause. 1 videocassette (ca. 97 min.)

MEDIA 2-2431

 

Seeds of war ; The war begins ; The western front 1994, 1987

John Sharnik, Isaac Kleinerman, and Robert Ryan

These three episodes of the eleven-part documentary series trace the roots and major early battles of World War I in Europe.  Includes German aggression in and occupation of Belgium, the entry of Britain into the war, the sinking of the Lusitania, the stalemate of the Western Front, and the Lafayette Escadrille, an air force of expatriate American pilots. 1 videocassette (ca. 146 min.)

MEDIA 2-2428

 

The spreading war ; America enters the war 1994, 1988

John Sharnik, Isaac Kleinerman, and Robert Ryan

These two episodes of the eleven-part documentary series World War I trace German-British naval warfare in the North Sea culminating in the Battle of Jutland, the disastrous British invasion of Gallipoli in Turkey, and U.S. entry into the war as a result of German attacks on U.S. ships. 1 videocassette (ca. 96 min.)

MEDIA 2-2429

 

Versailles, the lost peace 1978

Eric Sevareid, Anthony Potter, and Herb Schmertz

Instead of creating conditions that would lead to peace, the Treaty of Versailles was one of the factors that two decades later would result in World War II. 1 videocassette (25 min.)

MEDIA 2-4126

 

War ends ; A precarious peace 1994, 1988

John Sharnik, Isaac Kleinerman, and Robert Ryan

Two episodes of the eleven-part documentary series World War I.  War ends traces the U.S.'s early victories, the bloody battle of Argonne, and Germany's eventual agreement with Allied demands for unconditional surrender.  A precarious peace traces the carving up of Europe by Allied leaders, the negotiation of a fragile peace under the Treaty of Versailles, and the subsequent rise of Fascism in Italy and Germany. 1 videocassette (ca. 97 min.)

MEDIA 2-2432

 

Westfront 1918 1987

Ernst Johannsen, Gustav Diessl, Kritz Kampers, and Claus Clausen

Deals with trench warfare in the last stages of World War I. 1 videocassette (VHS) (90 min.)

MEDIA 2-357

 

Wien retour Return to Vienna 1999?

W. D Heinstrasse, Ruth Beckermann, and Josef Aicholzer

"In 1924, fourteen year old Franz Weintraub and his parents moved from Magdeburg,  Germany to Vienna, Austria. Joining some 60,000 other Jews who had migrated from eastern  areas of the defeated Hapsburg Empire, Weintraub's family settled in the Viennese Jewish  community of Leopoldstadt, the so-called 'Matzo Island.' In this illuminating documentary,  Weintraub recalls his experiences as a young Jew in inter-war Austria from 1924 to 1934. A  journalist and gifted storyteller, Weintraub reconstructs everyday life in Jewish Leopoldstadt  and in a Social Democratic milieu. Recalling in vivid detail his encounters with anti-semitism,  his involvement with the Labor movement and his membership in the Communist Party,  Weintraub's oral history provides keen insight into a community and era soon transformed by  World War II"--Distributor's website. 1 videocassette (95 min.)

MEDIA 2-3201

 

Woodrow Wilson 2002

Carl Byker, Mitch Wilson, David Mrazek, Richard Kassebaum, Isaac Mizrahi, and Linda Hunt

Explores the transformation of a history professor into one of America's greatest presidents. Living through the Civil War as a child, he reluctantly led America into World War I, suffering a paralyzing stroke from which he never fully recovered. The only president incapacitated in office, Wilson carried out his duties from bed with the help of his wife who became the de facto chief executive. 2 videocassettes (180 min.)

MEDIA. MEDIA 2-5882 cassette 1 2-5883 cassette 2