Linguistics

A one-volume introductory reference, arranged in parts comprising thematic sections-e.g. the functions of language, anatomy and physiology of speech, semantic development, and language planning. Aimed at a non-specialist readership. Includes indexes, glossary, table of language families, and a relatively brief bibliography. For greater depth, see The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics and International Encyclopedia of Linguistics listed below.

Consists primarily of articles from The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics (see below) many revised and updated, plus a number of new articles, all dealing with the intersection of language and education. In addition to the many topical articles, there is a section of biographies, plus a section on "The Profession" including articles on journals, research centers, and professional associations. Each article has a bibliography, and there are subject and name indexes.

Includes articles reflecting "the user perspective on language," plus brief biographies of thinkers like J. L. Austin, S. I. Hayakawa, Edward Sapir, and Benjamin Lee Whorf. Articles include brief bibliographies and there is an index.

More than 3000 entries on linguistic terms. A selection that is admittedly weak in its coverage of related disciplines. A starting place, to be supplemented by other, more narrowly focused, sources.

An alphabetical listing of 400 languages and language families. Entries typically include the estimated number of speakers, related languages or groups, a brief history, a map of the language's spread, samples of the script, and, in most cases, the numerals, 1 to 10 as an example of how the language looks and sounds.

Described by the author, David Crystal, as a "first dictionary" or a preliminary attempt to come to grips with the terminology of the field. Thus aimed at the undergraduate student and students and scholars in related fields. Includes more than 5000 terms grouped in 3000 entries.

Intended for students and teachers of linguistics, with definitions of nearly 2000 terms. Many definitions include references to further readings, fully cited in a 30 page bibliography.

Includes 330 pages of definitions and 30 pages of bibliography.

Alphabetically arranged, with signed articles, many quite substantial and most including bibliographies. International and interdisciplinary in scope. Includes name and subject indexes, a glossary, and a list of major language and linguistics journals. Written by a distinguished group of scholars from around the world.

Alphabetically arranged, with signed articles of up to 5,000 words, most including bibliographies. Features a detailed index, a glossary, and extensive cross references. Aimed at students and scholars "in linguistics and related fields." Written by a distinguished set of contributors.

Brief articles dealing with topics like national and regional variants of English, the history of the language, grammar, writing, speech, education, style. Includes cross references, an index, and some bibliographic notes. Good for students looking for compact information on a wide variety of topics. This edition increases coverage of World Englishes and the impact of technological advances on the English language.

Aims at "a thorough overview of all areas of linguistics" encompassing "descriptive and historical, comparative and typological linguistics as well as the applied subdisciplines and related fields." This volume is a translation and revision of a German work. Many entries include bibliographic references.

A one-volume encyclopedia, with articles on major linguistic topics. Includes an index and a bibliography.