Skip to main content

Company Research: Stocks

Mutual Funds & ETFs

The most useful site for mutual fund (and bond fund) information is Morningstar.com, with free fund screening and profiles; detailed reports require a subscription but you can sign up for a free 14-day trial.

Another fund screening site is Lipper Leaders, with ratings of several criteria including return on investment, preservation of capital, and fund expense for bond and equity mutual funds from around the world.

You can also make use of FINRA's Fund Analyzer which covers over 18,000 mutual funds, Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) and Exchange Traded Notes (ETNs).

Over a thousand ETFs and ETNs are profiled at:

For investors with concerns about corporate ethics, environmental initiatives, and workplace conditions, SocialFunds.com provides news and profiles of dozens of socially responsible mutual funds.

To help you make comparisons between funds, refer to the advice provided by the SEC for Calculating Mutual Fund Fees and Expenses and use Bloomberg BusinessWeek's Mutual Fund Scoreboard.

For various statistics on the mutual fund industry, consult the Investment Company Fact Books from the Investment Company Institute.

Sources For Company Information

The Standard & Poor's Stock Reports (DANA Business Reference) and its companion, the more selective S&P Stock Market Encyclopedia, (DANA REF HG 4921 .S68) provide ten years of stock price (annual high and low) information as well as "tangible" book value per share.

The Mergent Handbook of Common Stocks (CAMDEN, DANA, CARR REF HG 4905 .M815) also has stock price (annual price range) information for ten years, covering almost 1,000 firms.

Annual stock prices for about 1,700 companies are available in the Value Line and Value Line Historical Reports. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

Historical stock quotes are available from Mergent Online. (Rutgers-restricted Access) Other sources include:

Create your own charts with SharpCharts from StockCharts.com. Other Free Charting Tools are also available at this site.

Sources of Risk Measurement (Equity Beta)

The beta for most publicly-traded firms is to be found in the annual Security Risk Evaluation published by Merrill Lynch. The 2004-2007 online editions are very large PDF files; 1980 onwards: DANA REF HG 4501 .S42

Beta values for about 1,700 companies are available in Value Line and Value Line Historical Reports (Rutgers-restricted Access)

The Standard & Poor's Stock Reports and its companion, the S&P Stock Market Encyclopedia, began including betas with the Fall 1986 issue. See above for locations.

Sources For Industry Information

The single most useful source for industry-sector per-share data is the annual S&P Analysts' Handbook (DANA REF HG 4519 .S772) which provides up to 30 years worth of information.

You can also refer to the industry sections of the Value Line database. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

The monthly Standard & Poor's Statistical Service (DANA Business Reference) provides selected current and historical statistics on 12 industries.

Business Librarian

Ka-Neng Au's picture
Ka-Neng Au
Contact:
John Cotton Dana Library
185 University Ave
Newark, NJ 07102
au@rutgers.edu
Website / Blog Page