Skip to main content

Medieval Studies: Medieval Manuscript Facsimiles and Catalogs

Includes medieval topics in all Arts and Humanities disciplines.

Medieval Manuscripts Facsimiles and Catalogs

Facsimile editions in print

Here are a few of the facsimile editions in the Rutgers collections:

The series Early English Manuscripts in Facsimile / Edited by B. Colgrave et. al.
Copenhagen:  Rosenkilde and Bagger, 1951- .  Some gaps.
Special Collections/University Archives and Alex Folio [various call numbers; search Series Title in Catalog Advanced Search]

Great Domesday.
London : Alecto Historical Editions, 1986-1992. 6 cases.
Special Collections/University Archives, DA 190.D6913 1986 X-FOLIO2.
A facsimile of the 11th-century Domesday Book

Hildegard-Gebetbuch
Wiesbaden: L. Reichert, 1982
Music Stacks ND33804.B39H55.
Facsimile of an illuminated prayer book from the monastery of Hildegard of Bingen, dating from her lifetime (mid-12th century)

The hours of Mary of Burgundy : Codex Vindobonensis 1857.
Vienna, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek / commentary by Eric Inglis.
Art Stacks, BX2080.A35M3 1995.
An example of a 15th-century Book of Hours, richly illuminated.

Specimina codicum latinorum Vaticanorum / collegerunt Franciscus Ehrle et Paulus Liebaert.
Berlin:  W. De Gruyter, 1968.
Alex Stacks Z114.E41 1932a FOLIO.
A specimen book of facsimiles illustrating the variety of Latin hands over a range of place and time, from the manuscripts of the Vatican.

The Canterbury tales : the new Ellesmere Chaucer facsimile (of Huntington Library MS EL 26 C 9) / by Geoffrey Chaucer; edited by Daniel Woodward and Martin Stevens.
Tokyo : Yushodo Co.; San Marino, Calif. : Huntington Library Press, 1995. 1 portfolio ([480] p. on 31 gatherings) : col. ill.
Special Collections/University Archives PR1866.W65 1995 XFOLIO

Medicina y farmacia de Federico II
[Valencia : Ediciones Patrimonio, 2002] 460 pp. : col. ill.
Special Collections/University Archives-X R128.M33 2002
Florentine, 13th century; late Byzantine miniatures, multilingual.

Cynegetica : tratado de caza y pesca, Cod. Gr. Z.479 (=881).
[Valencia : Ediciones Patrimonio]  140 pp.
Special Collections/University Archives-X PA4253.O72C9 1999
Byzantine Greek, 11th century.

La chanson de saint Alexis : facsimilé en couleurs du ms. de Hildesheim / publié avec introduction et bibliographie par Ulrich Mölk.
Göttingen : Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht, 1997. 22 p. : col. ill.
Art Stacks PQ1424.A4M65 1997

 

Literary Manuscripts on CD-ROM

Hispanic Seminary of Medieval Studies CD-ROM series
Early Celestina electronic texts and concordances
The electronic texts and concordances of...
  Alfonso Fernández de Palencia's 1492 Spanish translation of Flavius Josephus "Guerra Judaica"
  Andalusian documents, 1324-1500
  Medieval Navarro-Aragonese manuscripts
  the Madison Corpus of early Spanish manuscripts and printings
  the prose works of Alfonso X, El Sabio
Madison, [Wis.] : Hispanic Seminary of Medieval Studies, 1997-9.
Alex Stacks-COM [various call numbers; search under Series Title in IRIS Advanced search]

The Piers Plowman electronic archive / William Langland
Vol. 1, Corpus Christi College, Oxford MS 201 (F)
Vol. 2, Cambridge, Trinity College, MS B.15.17 (W)
Vol. 3, Oxford, Oriel College, MS 79 (O)
Vol. 4, Oxford, Bodleian Library, Laud Misc. 581 (S.C. 987) (L)
Cambridge, England : Published for The Medieval Academy of America and SEENET by Boydell & Brewer, 2000-4.
Alex Stacks-COM PR2015.L36P5 2000 v.1-4

Online Manuscript Facsimiles

Digital Scriptorium contains a substantial database of digitized manuscripts from a score of American university collections, including Rutgers.

E-codices: Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland
A growing virtual collection of hundreds of medieval manuscripts housed in Swiss repositories.

The Web site Early Manuscripts at Oxford University provides access to digital images of over 80 medieval manuscripts.

The images produced by the ongoing digitization project of the medieval library of the Abbey of St. Gallen in Switzerland are available online.

The medieval codices of the Diocese of Cologne are available online.

Roman de la Rose is a joint digital project based of Johns Hopkins University and the Bibliothèque Nationale de France.

Here are three gateways to other digitized manuscripts online: the Medieval Manuscripts on the Web page of the Syracuse University Library, the Web page of the same title by Prof. Siân Echard of the University of British Columbia, and the Manuscripts page of the Labyrinth Web site at Georgetown University.

Printed Manuscript Catalogs

[Note: The McDonnell Room is a seminar room for medieval studies on the second floor of Alexander Library. Outside of class time it is locked, but medieval studies students can borrow a key in exchange for their id card. This room has second copies of many books on medieval manuscripts, and Alex Stacks many manuscript catalogs for individual libraries, besides the works listed here.]

Handlist of Anglo-Saxon manuscripts : a list of manuscripts and manuscript fragments written or owned in England up to 1100 / by Helmut Gneuss.
Tempe, Ariz. : Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies, 2001. 188 p.
Alex Stacks Z6605.A56G58 2001

Latin manuscript books before 1600 : a list of the printed catalogues and unpublished inventories of extant collections / by Paul Oskar Kristeller. 4th rev. and enl. ed. / by Sigrid Krämer.
Munich: Monumenta Germaniae Historica, 1993. xxxvi, 941 p.
Alex Stacks and McDonnell Room, Z6605.L3K75 1993

Medieval manuscripts in British libraries / by N.R. Ker.
Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1969[-1992]. 4 vols.
Alex Reference Z6620.G7K4

The manuscript sources for the history of Irish civilization / edited by Richard J. Hayes.
Boston: G. K. Hall, 1965. 11 v.
Alex Reference Z2041 .D85

Census of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the United States and Canada / by Seymour de Ricci, with the assistance of W.J. Wilson.
New York : H.W. Wilson, 1935-40; Reprint, New York: Kraus, 1961. 3 v.
Alex Reference, Z6620.U5R51, and Music Reference [vols. 1 & 2 only] CB351.R53 1961. 
Older listings, especially for individual collectors, often are out of date.

Census of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in the United States and Canada. Supplement. / Originated by C. U. Faye, continued and edited by W. H. Bond.
New York: Bibliographical Society of America, 1962. xvii, 626 p.
Alex Reference and Music Reference, Z6620.U5R1 suppl.

The manuscripts of early Norman England, (c. 1066-1130) / by Richard Gameson.
Oxford; New York : Published for the British Academy by Oxford University Press, c1999. xvii, 190 p., 24 p. of plates
Alex Stacks Z6601.G36 1999

Medieval and Renaissance manuscript books in the Library of Congress : a descriptive catalog / by Svato Schutzner.
Washington : The Library, 1988-
Alex Reference Z6621.U58M64 1988 v.1-2, Dana and Music v.1

Western European illuminated manuscripts of the 8th to the 16th centuries in the National Library of Russia, St Petersburg : France, Spain, England, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands / Tamara Voronova, Alexander [sic] Sterligov; [translation, Mireille Faure].
Bournemouth : Parkstone Press; St. Petersburg : Aurora, c1996. 374 p. : col. ill.
Alex Stacks ND2898.R88S35 1996

Manuscritos de autores medievales hispanos / Horacio Santiago-Otero.
Madrid : Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Centro de Estudios Históricos, 1987-
Alex Reference, Stacks Z6611.T3S26 1987 v.1

Los manuscritos aljamiado-moriscos de la Biblioteca de la Real Academia de la Historia : (legado Pascual de Gayangos) / Alvaro Galmés de Fuentes.
Madrid : Real Academia de la Historia, 1998. 234 p. : facsims. (some col.)
Alex Reference Z6621.R34G39 1998

Manoscritti prodotti per exemplar e pecia conservati nelle biblioteche austriache : Admont, Graz, Innsbruck, Klosterneuburg, Kremsmünster, Lilienfeld, Linz, Melk, Salzburg, Schlägl, St. Florian, Vorau, Wien e Zwettl / Giovanna Murano.
Wien : Verlag der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, 2003. 186 p., xx p. of plates : facsims.
Alex Stacks AS142.V31 Bd.702

Bibliothèques de manuscrits médiévaux en France : relevé des inventaires du VIIIe au XVIIIe siècle / établi par A.-M. Genevois, J.-F. Genest, A. Chalandon, avec la collaboration de M.-J. Beaud et A. Guillaumont.
Paris : Editions du Centre national de la recherche scientifique : Diffusion Presses du CNRS, 1987. xix, 388 p.
Alex Stacks Z723.B54 1987

A catalogue of the pre-1500 western manuscript books at the Newberry Library / Paul Saenger.
Chicago : University of Chicago Press, c1989. xxvii, 260 p., [40] p. of plates : ill. (some col.)
Alex, Art Stacks Z6621.N66S23 1989

Medieval libraries of Great Britain; a list of surviving books, 2d ed.
London, Offices of the Royal Historical Society, 1964. xxxii, 424 p.
Alex Stacks Z723.K47 1964

Medieval manuscripts in British libraries, by N. R. Ker.
Oxford, Clarendon P., 1969-
Alex Reference Z6620.G7K4 v.1-4

Corpus of British medieval library catalogues.
London : British Library in association with the British Academy, 1990--.
Alex Reference Z723: various vols. 

Guide to medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the Huntington Library / by C. W. Dutschke with the assistance of R. H. Rouse and Sara S. Hodson; Virginia Rust; Herbert C. Schulz; Ephrem Compte.
San Marino, Calif. : The Library, 1989. 2 v. (lxiv, 886 p., [81] p. of plates)
Alex Stacks, McDonnell Z6621.H527H46 1989 v.1-2

Bibliotheca lexicologiae Medii Aevi / Florent A. Tremblay.
Lewiston, N.Y. : Edwin Mellen Press, 1988.
Alex Stacks Z7028.L47T74 1988 v.1-10

Iter Vaticanum Franciscanum : a description of some one hundred manuscripts of the Vaticanus Latinus collection / by Girard J. Etzkorn.
Leiden; New York : E.J. Brill, 1996. xi, 301 p.
Alex Reference Z6611.F73E89 1996

Les catalogues de bibliothèques / par Albert Derolez.
Turnhout : Brepols, 1979. 71 p. Series: Typologie des sources du Moyen Age occidental; fasc. 31
Alex Stacks Z6203.T95 fasc.29/33

Electronic Manuscript Catalogs

The journal Scriptorium, "an international publication of mediaeval manuscripts studies"  (1946--) is indexed in Periodicals Index Online.

DScriptorium
Gateway to manuscript images at Brigham Young University

Iter Italicum: accedunt alia itinera : a database of uncatalogued or  incompletely catalogued humanistic manuscripts of the Renaissance in Italian and other libraries. Kristeller, Paul Oskar, 1905-1999

In: Iter [Rutgers Restricted] and Ref-Com  Z6611.H8K723 1997
Complete print set: Alex Stacks Z6611.H8K7 v.1-7

The Ambrosiana microfilm collection at the University of Notre Dame is described on its website and various printed catalogs listed there.

The manuscript catalogs of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France are available online as .pdf files.

The illuminated manuscripts catalog of the British Library is also available online.  There are two search options:  an index search of record fields and a keyword search.

The Vatican Film Library at Saint Louis University is described online and in various printed catalogs.

Also online is the catalog of the Hill Museum and Manuscript Library in Collegeville, Minnesota, contains more than 90,000  medieval manuscripts in microfilm or digital format.

PhiloBiblon: electronic bibliographies of Medieval Catalan, Galician, Portuguese, and Spanish text. Version 2.0c.
Berkeley, CA : The Bancroft Library University of California, c1999.
Alex Ref-Com Z6601.A1P45 1999 [CD-ROM workstation]

Scientific and medical writings in Old and Middle English : an electronic reference / Linda Ehrsam Voigts and Patricia Deery Kurtz.
Ann Arbor : University of Michigan Press, c2000.
Alex Stacks-COM Z6605.A56V65 2000