Skip to main content

Public Affairs, Public Service, and Public Administration: Reference Sources

This guide includes resources for studying public affairs, public service, and public administration.

Reference Resources

Biographical Dictionary of Public Administration. Wigfall, Patricia M. & Kalantari, Behrooz.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2001.
Brief biographical entries about major scholars and major leaders in the discipline of public administration with summaries of their contributions to the field. Each entry includes a bibliography of works written by the person and of works written about the person.
ALEXANDER REF JA 61 .W54 2001; DANA STACKS JA 61 .W54 2001

Classics of Public Administration. Shafritz, Jay M., Hyde, Albert C. Parkes, Sandra J. eds.
Belmont, CA: Wadsworth/Thomson Learning, 2004.
Chronological arrangement of key selections from the field of public administration.
DANA JF 1351 .C465 2004

Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy. Rabin, Jack ed.
New York: Marcel Dekker, 2003. 2 v.
Signed articles with references on theoretical concepts and practical issues in the discipline of public administration.
ALEXANDER REF JK 9 .E526 2003; NEWARK REF JK9.E526 2004; CAMDEN REF JK 9 .E526 2003

Handbook of Public Administration. Peters, B.G. & Pierre, J.
London: Sage, 2003.
An overview containing essays on "major issues in, and perspectives on, public administration" divided into 49 chapters.
ALEXANDER REF JF 1351 .H274 2003; DANA REF JF 1351 .H274 2003

Handbook of Public Management Practice and Reform. Liou, Kuotsai Tom, ed.
New York: Marcel Dekker, 2001.
Thirty-five essays discussing relationship of public management practice and reform to budgeting and financial management, human resources management and organizational and general management.
DANA JF 1351 .H278 2001

International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration. Shafritz, Jay M., ed. 4 v.
Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1998
Signed entries of varying lengths on core concepts,terms, historical developments and major figures in the overlapping disciplines of public policy and public administration. Contains index by word, phrase and name.
ALEXANDER REF H 97 .I574 1998; DANA REF H 97 .I574 1998

Public Productivity Handbook, rev. and expanded. Holzer, Mark & Lee, Seok-Hwan, eds.
New York: Marcel Dekker, 2004.
Essays designed for public administrators on management and measurement issues related to productivity and performance in the public sector.
DANA JF 1525 .P67 P83 2004

Research and Information Resources in Public Administration. Holzer, Mark, Redding-Raines, Audrey, Yu, Wenxuan eds.
Extensive annotated bibliography which also includes case studies, funding resources and job and career assistance.

Sage Abstracts. Beverly Hills, CA: Sage Publications.
Citations and summaries of articles and books about public administration. Published quarterly.
ALEXANDER REF JA 1 .S27 1992-; CAMDEN REF JA 1 .S27 1974-1989

Subject Librarian

Roberta Tipton's picture
Roberta Tipton
Contact:
Roberta L. Tipton
Business Librarian
Public Administration Librarian
Information Literacy Coordinator
The John Cotton Dana Library
Rutgers-Newark
973-353-5910
tipton at rutgers.edu
Website / Blog Page