Skip to main content

Public Affairs, Public Service, and Public Administration: State and Local Governments

This guide includes resources for studying public affairs, public service, and public administration.

Cities, Urban Planning, Urban Revitalization

National League of Cities
"Mission is to strengthen and promote cities as centers of opportunity, leadership, and governance."

Urban Institute
"Non-partisan economic and social policy research organization."

Rutgers University Libraries Housing and Development Subject Research Guide

New Jersey State and Local Information

New Jersey State and Local Governments by Stephanie Bartz, Rutgers New Brunswick

State and Local Government Links

Stateline.org
Weekly news about the states published by the Pew Research Center. Site also contains archive of "State of the State" speeches.

State and Local Government on the Net
"Directory of official state, county and city government websites."

National Association of Counties
Maintains database of demographic information about counties. Site also contains examples of model county programs and examples of county codes and ordinances.

Census of Governments (US)
Data on the number of size and types of state and local governmental units, size of workforce and gross payroll by governmental function and "financial activity of governments including revenues, expenditures, debt and assets. Data are available online from 1992."--from the site

statehealthfacts.org
A project of the Kaiser Family Foundation. "Designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on all 50 states."

Municipal Codes Online
Links to searchable municipal and county codes

Council of State Governments
Nonpartisan group of state officials intended to share ideas and foster innovation in state governments.

Census 2000 School District Profiles
General, administrative, and financial profiles of school districts in the United States. Data from the National Center for Educational Statistics.

Public Plans Database (Center for Retirement Research at Boston College)
Includes data on 126 state and local retirement plans.  Allows creation of data tables and data downloads for research purposes.

Subject Librarian

Roberta Tipton's picture
Roberta Tipton
Contact:
Roberta L. Tipton
Business Librarian
Public Administration Librarian
Information Literacy Coordinator
The John Cotton Dana Library
Rutgers-Newark
973-353-5910
tipton at rutgers.edu
Website / Blog Page