International Data
 |
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides direct access to the IMF’s major data and statistical tools such as International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payment Statistics (BOP), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS). (Rutgers-restricted access) Selected tables from their World Economic Outlook Database are available on their Website; the tables are in comma-delimited format. Selected data sets can also be seen as maps and charts at IMF DataMapper. The full set of available Datasets can be viewed by title or by topic. |
| The World Bank has its annual compilation of economic, financial, and trade data entitled World Tables, (ALEXANDER International Documents; CAMDEN, DANA, CARR REF HC 59 .W669) with up to 20 years of data for its member countries. Their Website has Data section on Economic Policy and External Debt with GNP and GDP figures. Many other tables are available under Data: Topics and Data: Indicators. |  |
 |
With fewer statistics and more discussion, the United Nations presents its view of trends and policies in the world economy with the annual World Economic and Social Survey. (ALEXANDER International Documents; DANA REF HC 59 .A1974) The advance unedited text of Chapter I ("The World Economy") from the last few issues is available online at the UN Website. |
| The Year Book of Labour Statistics (ALEXANDER International Documents; DANA REF HD 4826 .I63) from the International Labour Organization has data extracted from up to three decennial censuses for more than 180 countries and territories. Coverage is of active work force by industry, by sex, and by occupation. Selected data tables on employment, unemployment, and wages are available online from the LABORSTA database. |  |
A related publication is Key Indicators Of The Labour Market, with selected tables online. Also, data tables from the 1997-98 World Labour Report covered trade unions, strikes, and labor force trends. [ALEXANDER DOC HD 6483 .I64; DANA HD 6483 .I64]
Labor migration statistics are available from the ILO in their International Labour Migration Database. From 1 January 2008, the ILM database has been integrated with the ILO Database on Labour Statistics: LABORSTA. On the LABORSTA welcome page, click on "By topic" and then "International Labour Migration: Statistics"
Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and Gross National Product (GNP) data for selected countries and years are available from the Penn World Table produced by the University of Pennsylvania but mirrored at other institutions around the world.
The Joint BIS-IMF-OECD-World Bank Statistics on External Debt database will provide data on loans and debt securities issued to national governments, from 1990 to the present.
World Economics compiles a monthly World Price Index, which measures the value of an urban selection of goods and services at purchasing power parity, for major economies of the world. The full report is freely available but registration is required.
The Organisation of the Islamic Conference's Ankara Centre (more formally known as SESRTCIC: Statistical, Economic and Social Research and Training Centre for Islamic Countries) has built up a statistical database called BASEIND: Basic Socio-Economic Indicators, covering the 57 member nations of the OIC.
A useful resource is the Privatization Database from the World Bank, which covers transactions in developing countries from 2000 to 2008.