Rutgers Online Databases
Business Source Premier includes a series of country reports (called Country Reviews) from CountryWatch, which summarize information from many US and international sources. The Country Reviews are downloadable as PDF files, which are quite large. (Rutgers-restricted access)
EIU.com offers two major series: (Rutgers-restricted access)
- Country Commerce (formerly Investing, Licensing and Trading Conditions Abroad)
- Financial Services Report (formerly Financing Foreign Operations)
MarketLine (formerly Datamonitor) includes over 2,800 original industry research reports for major countries around the world. There is also a separate database for market data on consumer products - mouse over Databases on the bottom and select "Market Data Analytics." (Rutgers-restricted Access)
Mintel Reports offer product and industry market research reports covering US and selected International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. (Rutgers-restricted Access)
Besides their US and global industry reports, IBISWorld presents a special collection of industry reports for China. Click LOGIN under INDUSTRY REPORTS, then click on CHINA INDUSTRY REPORTS for a complete list. (Rutgers-restricted Access) For more on China, consult our Doing Business in China guide by Wen-Hua Ren, Dana Library.
Country Profiles, Risk Reports, and Innovation Indexes
- MergentMergent Online (formerly FIS Online) is a database of corporate information covering over 22,000 US and foreign public companies.
- IBISWorldOrganized by NAICS code, this database has detailed overviews for 1,200 industry sectors in the United States, China, and at the global level. Contains market share data, top competitors, and industry growth rates.
- Doing Business (World Bank Group)This resource provides economic and developmental insights from emerging countries.
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
- World Economic Forum Competitiveness ReportsThe following reports contains country level competitive data based on specific metrics and economic indicators.
- globalEdge Company DirectoriesListings by country of country-specific directories. Most of these are directories of exporting or industrial companies and products.
- INSEAD – Cornell – WIPO Global Innovation IndexThis resource provides Index rankings of countries on their innovation capabilities. The index is created by Cornell University, INSEAD, and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).
- Business Source PremierUse to find articles about business leaders by name. Most effective is to put last name, first name in the search box, and select People from the dropdown list to its right.
