Skip to main content

African Studies: Arts, Literature and Culture

Resources for African History, Current Events, Arts, Literature and Cultures, and Social Science Disciplines.

Selected E-Books

Works of Criticism

The Cambridge history of African and Caribbean literature / edited by F. Abiola Irele and Simon Gikandi. New York : Cambridge University Press, 2003.

African theatre for development: art for self-determination / edited by Kamal Salhi. Exeter : Intellect, 1998.

Facts, fiction, and African creative imaginations / edited by Toyin Falola and Fallou Ngom. New York : Routledge, 2009.

Companion encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African film / edited by Oliver Leaman. London ; New York : Routledge, 2001.

Language and Literature

African Language Materials Archive -- Literary works

African Language Materials Archive -- Language learning materials, including video

Finding Works of Criticism in IRIS

Helpful Hint: Use the subject phrase "criticism and interpretation" as part of your search in IRIS.

For example, a subject search for:

Achebe, Chinua -- Criticism and interpretation

will only display books about the works of Chinua Achebe, not the works he wrote.

 

You will also want to use subject headings such as:

African literature -- 20th century [or 21st century, etc.] -- History and criticism
African literature (English) --  20th century -- History and criticism
Authors, Nigerian [South African, etc.] -- 20th century -- biography
Mozambican literature (Portuguese) -- 20th century -- History and criticism

Selected Literary Works from the Literature Online Collection

Texts in the Literature Online collection:

South African Poetry Collection 

African Dramatists include:

Aidoo, Christina Ama

Bandele-Thomas, Biyi

Imbuga, F.D.

Ngugi Wa Thiong'o (James Ngugi)

Onwueme, Osonye Tess

For a complete list of African dramatists in the Literature Online collection, click "Texts," then "Drama," and select the appropriate country from the Nationality search box.

Finding Literary Texts in IRIS

In addition to searching under the author's name, you can use variations on the following subject headings to help you find literary works by African authors.

Nigeria [South Africa, etc.]-- Literary collections
South African Literature
Nigerian Drama
South African Poetry
South African literature (English)--Women authors
Women--South Africa--Literary collections