Skip to main content

Latino Studies: Statistics & Data

This guide serves as a general starting point for research in Latina/o Studies.

Statistical Databases

View all datasets by subject

Use the databases below to help you find demographic, social and economic data. Note: Some databases require RU Login from off-campus.

Contains searchable data estimates from the annual American Community Survey, as well as the Economic Census and decennial Census information as it becomes available. New mapping feature is available, as well.

 

Search Census 2000 and 2010 data, as well as Business and Economic Census Data. Contains numerous thematic portals and reports.

 

Social Explorer provides convenient access to several major sources of demographic data: the U.S. Decennial Census of population and housing, the American Community Survey, and data on religion from InfoGroup and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study.  Social Explorer's strength is its interactive mapping tool that allows data to be easily visualized, as well as the easy creation of data extracts.

 

Historical Statistics of the United States is a standard source for data on all aspects of American history. The Millennial Edition is divided into five sections broadly covering: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Covers colonial period to the present day.

 

Resource Center for Minority Data is a collection of datasets from ICPSR having to do with racial minorities. Users can browse studies by topic, or search for particular variables. Users must create a free account before downloading datasets.

(now Proquest) Statistical Insight enables easy access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.

 

 

 

Statistical Reports

Facts on the Hispanic or Latino Population (U.S. Census Bureau)

A Statistical Portrait of Hispanics at Mid-Decade (Pew Hispanic Center)

Analysis of multiple origin reporting to the Hispanic origin question in Census 2000 / by Roberto R. Ramirez. [Washington, DC] : Population Division, U.S. Census Bureau, [2004?]

Hispanic Americans : a statistical sourcebook. Boulder, Colo. : Numbers & Concepts, 1991. Carr, Douglass E184.S75H57 yr.1991

Statistical record of Hispanic Americans / Marlita A. Reddy, editor. Detroit : Gale, c1993. Carr, Douglass REF E184.S75S735 1993

Tracking Hispanic ethnicity: evaluation of current population survey data quality for the question of Hispanic origin, 1971 to 2004 / by Dianne Schmidley and Arthur Cresce. [Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Census Bureau, Population Division, [2007]

Data on Hispanic representation in the federal workforce. Washington, DC : U.S. Govt. Accountability Office, [2007]

Health insurance status of Hispanic subpopulations in 2004: estimates for the U.S. civilian noninstitutionalized population under age 65 / Jeffrey A. Rhoades and Jessica P. Vistnes. [Rockville, Md.] : Medical Expenditure Panel Survey, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, [2006]

Migration by race and hispanic origin: 1995 to 2000 / by Jason P. Schachter.  [Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau, [2003]