Skip to main content

Latino Studies: Class Guide -- Decena

This guide serves as a general starting point for research in Latina/o Studies.

Finding and Using Latina/o Queer Archival Material

This guide was created to help you start thinking about archival research in the context of Queer Latina/o Studies, for the course Lesbians and Gay Men in Society, Fall 2011.

COURSE LEARNING GOALS (From your syllabus)
a. To connect everyday personal experiences of gender and sexual dissent to institutional forms of identity production


b. To appreciate the importance of historical memory and recovery in projects of queer identities and
belonging


c. To engage primary and secondary materials in the production of a final research paper, group paper, or
group archival exhibit and report.


d. To work with primary documents and develop research and archival skills

(Photo Credit: From the Gloria Evangelina Anzaldúa Papers, 1942-2004 Finding Aid, UT Austin, Benson Collection)

Rutgers University Libraries Online Resources

ArchiveGrid

PRISMA

Chicano Database

Hispanic-American Periodicals Index

MLA International Bibliography

Latino Literature

Latino Literature includes creative works by Latino authors: novels, works of poetry, drama, materials relating to dramatic productions such as playbills, production stills and audio files, as well a small amount of miscellaneous nonfiction. All works are reproduced in their entirety. Includes works by Cherríe Moraga and Terri de la Peña, among other creative works and works of criticism.

Ethnic NewsWatch

WorldCat

Finding Archival Collections

Archival Collections at Rutgers University Libraries Special Collections and University Archives

Rutgers University Lesbian and Gay Alliance

New Jersey Lesbian and Gay Coalition

Guides and Catalogs to help you locate archival collections of interest

 

Lesbian and Gay Archives Roundtable Guide to Sources in North America

ArchiveGrid

WorldCat

LGBT Center List of Other Archives and Collections

 

Larger Grassroots and Institutional Collections

Lesbian Herstory Archives

One Archives

Lesbian Legacy Collection Finding Aid

Mazer Archive (Online Catalog Available Here, Draft Inventory of Special Collections Available Here)

 

 

LGBT Center Archives

New York Public Library

LGBT Archives & Manuscripts
Guide to the collections

 

UC Berkeley Ethnic Studies Library, Chicano Studies Collection

Hank M. Tavera Papers, 1952-2000 Finding Aid

Thesaurus

 

Other Archives

Some Examples of Artist Archives

MoMA

Felix Gonzalez-Torres Foundation Archives

Selected Books at Rutgers University Libraries

Autobiography and Testimonio

Butterfly boy : memories of a Chicano mariposa / Rigoberto González. Madison : University of Wisconsin Press, c2006. ALEX PS3557.O4695Z46 2006

Madre and I : a memoir of our immigrant lives / Guillermo Reyes. Madison, Wis. : University of Wisconsin Press, c2010. NEWARK PS3568.E8834Z46 2010

Queer Latino testimonio, Keith Haring, and Juanito Xtravaganza : hard tails / Arnaldo Cruz-Malavé. New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2007. DOUGLASS HQ75.8.R58C78 2007

Revolutionary voices : a multicultural queer youth anthology / edited by Amy Sonnie. Los Angeles : Alyson Books ; London : Distributed in the UK by Turnaround Publisher Services Ltd., 2000. ALEX HQ76.25.R48 2000

Literature, Culture & Criticism

Disidentifications : queers of color and the performance of politics / José Esteban Muñoz. Minneapolis ; London : University of Minnesota Press, c1999. ALEX, DOUGLASS HQ76.3.U5M87 1999

Homecoming queers : desire and difference in Chicana Latina cultural production / Marivel T. Danielson. New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, c2009. ALEX, DOUGLASS PS153.H56D36 2009

Out of the fringe : contemporary Latina/Latino theatre and performance / Caridad Svich and María Teresa Marrero, editors. New York : Theatre Communications Group ; St. Paul, MN : Distributed by Consortium Book Sales, 2000. DOUGLASS PS628.H57O78 2000

Postnationalism in chicana(o) literature and culture / Ellie D. Hernandez. Austin : University of Texas Press, 2009. ALEX PS153.M4H466 2009

Tortilleras : Hispanic and U.S. Latina lesbian expression / edited by Lourdes Torres and Inmaculada Pertusa. hiladelphia : Temple University Press, 2003. ALEX PQ7081.5.T68 2003

Nonfiction

The Afro-Latin@ reader : history and culture in the United States / edited by Miriam Jiménez Román and Juan Flores. Durham [NC] : Duke University Press, 2010. ALEX E185.615.A37 2010

Brown on brown : Chicano/a representations of gender, sexuality, and ethnicity / Frederick Luis Aldama. Austin : University of Texas Press, 2005. ALEX PS153.M4A435 2005

The development of a Latino gay identity / Bernardo Garcia. New York : Garland Publishing, 1998. ALEX HQ76.2.U5G35 1998

Gay Latino studies : a critical reader / edited by Michael Hames-García and Ernesto Javier Martínez. Durham, NC : Duke University Press, 2011. ALEX HQ76.3.U5G384 2011

Latina/o sexualities : probing powers, passions, practices, and policies / edited by Marysol Asencio. New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press, c2010. ALEX E184.S75L346 2010

Queer latinidad : identity practices, discursive spaces / Juana Maria Rodriguez. New York : New York University Press, c2003. ALEX HQ76.3.U5R63 2003

Rethinking Chicana/o and Latina/o popular culture / Daniel Enrique Pérez. New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2009. DOUGLASS HQ76.25.P47 2009

Troubling intersections of race and sexuality : queer students of color and anti-oppressive education / edited by Kevin K. Kumashiro.Lanham, Md. ; Oxford : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, c2001. ALEX LC2575.T76 2001

Your Subject Librarian

Jonathan Sauceda's picture
Jonathan Sauceda
Contact:
Music and Performing Arts Librarian

8 Chapel Road

New Brunswick, NJ



Phone: 848-932-9023

Organizations of Interest

PFLAG for Families of Color maintains an extensive list of local and national organizations of interest.

Suggested Terms to use in Library Catalogs

Hispanic American gays

Hispanic American gays--Drama (or Literature, etc)

Hispanic American lesbians

Lesbians' writings, Spanish American

Mexican American gays (or Dominican, etc.)

Mexican American lesbians

Minority Gays -- United States

Hispanic American Women -- Sources