This is the "Home" page of the "Alternative Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alternative Medicine  

Last Updated: Apr 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/alt_med Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Select Databases

 

  • Academic Search Premier
    Covers a wide range of academic areas including arts, business, communication, education, humanities, language and linguistics, literature, sciences, social sciences, technology and women's studies
  • CINAHL
    Provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. Includes some full-text.
  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
    Includes full text of the systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration.
  • ERIC
    The world's largest source of education information. The database contains more than one million abstracts of education-related documents and journal articles
  • Health and Wellness Resource Center
    A collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, definitions, and directories. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Includes some full-text.
  • Health Reference Center-Academic
    A collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Includes some full-text.
  • History of Science, Technology and Medicine
    This database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields
  • MEDLINE
    Premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of the biomedical literature. This selection includes citations back to 1966. Includes some full-text.
  • Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
    Updated daily with clinical data on the natural medicines, herbal medicines, and dietary supplements used in the western world. Contains monographs describing natural medicines sold in the United States and Canada and a listing of every natural product discussed in any reputable reference.
  • Nursing and Allied Health Collection
    Comprehensive database contains nearly 400 full text journals that are indexed in CINAHL, including nearly 300 peer-reviewed titles covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines.
  • Physical Education Index
    Indexes a wide variety of content from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, and trade magazines in topics ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance.
  • ProQuest Social Sciences
    Provides access to more than 160 key journals for the study of social sciences. Subjects include anthropology, community health and medical care, family studies, gender studies, international relations, minority studies, psychiatry, social work and more
  • PsycINFO
    Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to journals and dissertations in more than 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Includes some full-text.
  • PubMed
    PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 23 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
  • Science Direct
    Includes full text of about 700 of 1100 Elsevier journals. Users can search the entire database or limit to only subscribed titles.
  • Web of Science
    Includes data from the Science Citation Index Expanded and the Social Sciences Citation Index. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.

Electronic Journals

Patient Information

 

  • HeathyNJ
    Healthcare information for New Jersey consumers, policy makers, and health care professionals
  • MDConsult
    Provides searchable, full-text access to over 50 of the world's most important medical journals, a collection of over 40 reference books, more than 1000 clinical practice guidelines, and almost 3,500 customizable patient education handouts. It also includes full-text drug information.
  • Health and Wellness Resource Center
    A collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, definitions, and directories. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Includes some full-text.
  • Office of Dietary Supplements
    The mission of ODS is to strengthen knowledge and understanding of dietary supplements by evaluating scientific information, stimulating and supporting research, disseminating research results, and educating the public to foster an enhanced quality of life and health for the U.S. population.
  • National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
    Part of the NIH, its mission is to support research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM), train researchers and to disseminate information to the public and professionals on which CAM modalities work, which do not, and why. Subject areas: Health Information (including alerts and advisories), News and Events, Research Training and Clinical Trials. Intended for practitioners, researchers and the public.

PDA Resources

 

  • Essential Evidence Plus
    Point of care tool designed to offer "Patient-Oriented Evidence that Matters". Also includes access to 6 EBM databases, calculators, guidelines and quick reference tools.
  • ePocrates
    Suite of popular diagnostic, drug and treatment tools for PDAs as well as web-based access.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Pam Hargwood
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip