Skip to main content

Seminar in Africana Studies: Finding Books

Finding Books in Catalogs

Search the Rutgers University Libraries Catalog to find books, videos, cds and journal titles available at Rutgers.

Use the EZBorrow Catalog to find books that are not available for check-out at Rutgers

Use WorldCat to find materials at other libraries and request them through Interlibrary Loan.

Selected Books Available at Rutgers

Allen, Walter Recharde, Richard A. English, and Jo Anne Hall. Black American Families, 1965-1984 : A Classified, Selectively Annotated Bibliography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.

Boyd, Todd. African Americans and Popular Culture. Westport, Conn: Praeger, 2008.

Carey, Charles W. African-American Political Leaders. New York: Facts On File, 2004.

Downing, Karen E,  Darlene P Nichols and  Kelly Webster. Multiracial America : a resource guide on the history and literature

of interracial issues. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2005

Gates, Henry Louis, and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham. The African American National Biography. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.

Gordon, Jacob U. The African-American Male : An Annotated Bibliography. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1999.

Hill, George H., and Sylvia Saverson Hill. Blacks on Television : A Selectively Annotated Bibliography. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press, 1985.

Hine, Darlene Clark, Elsa Barkley Brown, and Rosalyn Terborg-Penn. Black Women in America : An Historical Encyclopedia. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1994, 1993.

Hornsby, Alton. Chronology of African-American History : Significant Events and People from 1619 to the Present. Detroit: Gale Research, 1991.

Lowery, Charles D., John F. Marszalek, and Thomas Adams Upchurch. The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights : From Emancipation to the Twenty-First Century. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2003.

Mjagkij, Nina. Organizing Black America : An Encyclopedia of African American Associations. New York; London: Garland Pub, 2001.

Morrison, Minion K. C. African Americans and Political Participation : A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif; Oxford: ABC-CLIO, 2003.

Mustard, David B. Racial Justice in America : A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif; Oxford: ABC-CLIO, 2003.

Reich, Steven A. Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2006.

Rice, Mitchell F., and Woodrow Jones. Black American Health : An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987.

Savage, Beth L., Carol D. Shull, and National Register of Historic Places. African American Historic Places. Washington, D.C: Preservation Press, 1994.

Thompson, Julius Eric. The Black Press in Mississippi, 1865-1985. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 1993.

Walters, Ronald W., and Cedric Johnson. Bibliography of African American Leadership : An Annotated Guide. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2000.

Allen, Walter Recharde, Richard A. English, and Jo Anne Hall. Black American Families, 1965-1984 : A Classified, Selectively Annotated Bibliography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.

Boyd, Todd. African Americans and Popular Culture. Westport, Conn: Praeger, 2008.

Carey, Charles W. African-American Political Leaders. New York: Facts On File, 2004.

Gates, Henry Louis, and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham. The African American National Biography. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.

Gordon, Jacob U. The African-American Male : An Annotated Bibliography. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1999.

Hill, George H., and Sylvia Saverson Hill. Blacks on Television : A Selectively Annotated Bibliography. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press, 1985. P

Hine, Darlene Clark, Elsa Barkley Brown, and Rosalyn Terborg-Penn. Black Women in America : An Historical Encyclopedia. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1994, 1993.

Hornsby, Alton. Chronology of African-American History : Significant Events and People from 1619 to the Present. Detroit: Gale Research, 1991.

Lowery, Charles D., John F. Marszalek, and Thomas Adams Upchurch. The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights : From Emancipation to the Twenty-First Century. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2003.

Mjagkij, Nina. Organizing Black America : An Encyclopedia of African American Associations. New York; London: Garland Pub, 2001.

Morrison, Minion K. C. African Americans and Political Participation : A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif; Oxford: ABC-CLIO, 2003.

Mustard, David B. Racial Justice in America : A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif; Oxford: ABC-CLIO, 2003.

Reich, Steven A. Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2006.

Rice, Mitchell F., and Woodrow Jones. Black American Health : An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1987.

Savage, Beth L., Carol D. Shull, and National Register of Historic Places. African American Historic Places. Washington, D.C: Preservation Press, 1994.

Thompson, Julius Eric. The Black Press in Mississippi, 1865-1985. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 1993.

Walters, Ronald W., and Cedric Johnson. Bibliography of African American Leadership : An Annotated Guide. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 2000.

Your Subject Librarian

Melissa Gasparotto
Contact:
Alexander Library

College Avenue Campus

gasparom@libraries.rutgers.edu