The Newark Experience

Beth Israel

Covenant of Care: Newark Beth Israel and the Jewish Hospital in America.

Alan M. Kraut and Deborah A. Kraut. New Brunswick, N.J., Rutgers University Press, 2007. Available?

It Happened at The Beth: Great Moments in the Life and Times of Newark Beth Israel Hospital

Jewish Historical Society MetroWest. 2005. DVD. Available?

"Fifty Golden Years: A History of Dentistry at Newark Beth Israel Medical Center,"

B. Kaswiner. Journal of the New Jersey Dental Association 49(1), 1977, 10-13. Available?

Newark Beth Israel Medical Center Centennial Celebration: History

Journal of the Newark Beth Israel Hospital

Newark, N.J., Vol. 1-Vol.19 (1950-1968) Available?

Journal of the Newark Beth Israel Medical Center

Newark, N.J., Vol. 20-Vol.23 (1969-1973) Available?

Centre Street Military Hospital [Ward's Hospital]

"To Treat War's 'Wounded and Diseased': Newark's Civil War Hospital"

Sandra W. Moss. New Jersey Heritage 2 (2003) pp.18–28.

The Ward Hospital treated over 8,000 men between 1862 and 1865. Available?

Ward Hospital Bulletin

Vol. 1, no, 7., August 10, 1865. Partial history and statistics.

The Model Hospital in Newark,"

New York Times July 10, 1862. Rutgers-restricted access

"The Soldiers' Hospital at Newark: The Location, The Accommodations and the Patients,"

New York Times June 23, 1862. Rutgers-restricted access

City Hospital [Martland Center/University Hospital]

History of the University Hospital

Brief overview.

"Autopsies in Newark City Hospital, 1908 to 1911,"

William D. Sharpe. Journal of the Medical Society of New Jersey 81(1), January 1984, 53-62.

Looks at what the patterns revealed in the autopsies performed at Newark City Hospital between 1908 and 1911 suggest about the lives of the urban poor that the hospital served. Available?

Harrison Stanford Martland, M.D.: The Story of a Physician, a Hospital, an Era.

Samuel Berg. New York, Vantage Press, 1978.

Appointed in 1908, Martland served as the Newark City Pathologist for 46 years, as well as the Essex County Medical Examiner for 25 years. Available?

Newark City Hospital Records, 1898-1971. A Guide to the Collection

The Newark City Hospital Records are in the Stanley S. Bergen, Jr, MD University Archives at the Rutgers George F. Smith Library of the Health Sciences in Newark. "The records of Newark City Hospital (NCH) date from 1898 to 1971, with bulk dates from 1910 through the late 1940s. The records total approximately 11 linear feet...The records are open for research without restriction under the conditions of the Archives' access policy."

E. Mae McCarroll, A.B., M.D., M.S.P.H., 1898- . First Lady of the NMA

W. Montague Cobb. Journal of the National Medical Association 65(6), November 1973, pp. 544-545.

Mae McCorroll, who practiced medicine in Newark for 44 years, was the first African American doctor to be appointed to the staff of Newark City Hospital.

Essex County Asylum for the Insane

The Essex County, New Jersey Asylum for the Insane, 1872-1910: A Field Study.

Jane East. M.A. Thesis, University of Chicago, 1940. Available?

Annual Report of the Essex County Asylum for the Insane, Newark, N.J.

Newark, Advertiser Steam Printing House. Available?

Kenney Memorial Hospital [Community Hospital]

Newark's Black Hospital: The History of Kenney Hospital

Linda Kenney-Miller, Clement A. Price, and Rev. John K. White, panalists. Newark History Society, January 29, 2009.

Celebrating the Legacy of Kenney Hospital, Newark, New Jersey.

Newark, N.J., Newark Preservation and Landmarks Committee, 2005.

Includes brief history of Kenney Hospital, Dr. John A. Kenney, and some excerpts from Dr. Kenney's remarks at his testimonial dinner on October 27, 1939.

"The Kenney Memorial Hospital, Newark, New Jersey

John A. Kenney, M.D. The Southern Workman 57(5), May 1928, 218-223.

On the founding, and financing, of Kenney Hospital. Available?

"Kenney Memorial Hospital,"

John A. Kenney. Journal of the National Medical Association 22(3), 1930, 156-7.

Description of the hospital in 1930. Available?

"The Inter-Racial Committee of Montclair, New Jersey: Report of Survey of Hospital Committee,"

John A. Kenney. Journal of the National Medical Association 23(3), July-September 1931, 97-109.

Includes (pp. 99-101) the transcript of a radio address by Dr. Kenney on "The Hospital Facilities for Negroes in Newark and Essex County, N.J." broadcast over Station WNJ on Friday evening, June 5, 1931. Available?

"Kenney Memorial Hospital,"

Robert M. White. Journal of the National Medical Association 91(5), May 1999, 282-8. Available?

"John A. Kenney, MD, and the North Jersey Medical Society. Taking on Jim Crow,"

S.W. Moss. New Jersey Medicine: The Journal of the Medical Society of New Jersey 100(4), April 2003, 37-41. Available?

Beacon on the Hill: A Novel.

Linda Kenney Miller. Marietta, Ga., Harper House Publishers, 2008.

Fictionalized account of Dr. John Kenney's life and work by his granddaughter. Available?

Beacon on the Hill: Photo Album

Some photographs relating to the life and work of Dr. John Kenney; includes several Kenney Hospital photographs. From the book on Dr. Kenney by his granddaugher, Linda Kenney Miller.

"John Andrew Kenney,"

Journal of Negro History 35(2), April 1950, 229-230. Rutgers-restricted access

Newark Charitable Eye and Ear Infirmary

The Newark Charitable Eye and Ear Infirmary, 1880-1982

Register of the collection in the Department of Special Collections at the Rutgers George F. Smith Library of the Health Sciences in Newark.

Annual Report.

Newark Charitable Eye and Ear Infirmary. 1880-

Special Collections Call Number: SNCLY RA982 .N639 [Vol.1-4 (1880-1883); Vol.7-9 (1886-1888); Vol.13 (1892); Vol.17 (1896); Vol.26 (1905); Vol. 29 (1908)]

Newark German Hospital [Clara Maass]

German Hospital

Postcard

Clara Maass: A Nurse, A Hospital, A Spirit.

John T. Cunningham. Belleville, N.J., 1968. Available?

Building Bridges for 125.

Robert D.B. Carlisle. Belleville, N.J., Clara Maass Health System, 1993. Available?

Twenty-fifth Anniversary of the Dedication of the Newark German Hospital, Sunday & Monday, September 1st and 2nd, 1895 at Caledonian Park.

Newark, N.J., Heinz Lito & Print Co., 1895.

Souvenir Programme (31 pp.) Available?

Clara Louise Maass: The Tradition of Caring.

Belleville, N.J., Clara Maass Medical Center, 1989. Available?

Guide to the Clara Maass Memorial Hospital Collection, 1959-1982, MG 1670

Small ephemera collection at the New Jersey Historical Society.

Orange Memorial

Annual Report

Orange Memorial Hospital.

Special Collections Call Number: SNCLY RA982 .O63O6 [Vol.11 (1884); Vol.17 (1890)]

The following are available at the New Jersey Historical Society: 1883-1885; 1889-1891; 1894.

Thirtieth Annual Report of the Orange Memorial Hospital for the Year 1903, With List of Contributors.

Orange, N.J., The Journal Press, 1904.

Presbyterian Hosptial in Newark

Annual Report.

Presbyterian Hospital in Newark.

Special Collection Call Number: SNCYL RA982 .N6P92 no.20 (1931)

The following are available at the New Jersey Historical Society: 1913, 1917-19, 1921-27, 1931-33, 1937, 1939.

St. Barnabas

"Hospital of Saint Barnabas and for Women and Children,"

Belle W. Noorian. Hospitals 14(7), 1940, 115-7.

History of the Hospital of St. Barnabas in Newark, the hospital's merger with the Hospital for Women and Children, and their School for Nurses. Available?

Annual Report.

Hospital of St. Barnabas. Newark, N.J.

Special Collections Call Number: SNCLY RA982 .N6S135 [Vol.5 (1870/71; Vol. 9 (1874/75; Vol.11 (1876/77); Vol. 14 (1879/80); Vol. 15 (1880/81)]

The following years are available at the New Jersey Historical Society: 1866/67-1867/68; 1870/71; 1874-77; 1879-83; 1886-87; 1920.

The following years are available at Newark Public Library: 1871; 1874; 1876-1877; 1883; 1885-1887; 1920-1929.

The Hospital Review.

Monthly. "Devoted to the interests of the sick and suffering at the Hospital of St. Barnabas."

Special Collections Call Number: SNCLY2 RA960 .H828 [Vol.1 no.6 (Sept. 1877), no.9 (Dec.1877); Vol.2 no 2-7 (May-Oct 1878), no. 9-12 (Dec 1878-Mar 1879); Vol.3 no.1-2 (Apr-May 1879); Vol.6 no.1-5 (Apr-Aug 1882, no.11 (Feb.1882); Vol.29 no.9 (Dec 1905); Vol.31 no.5 (Aug 1907; Vol.33 no.12 (Mar 1910); Vol.34 no.1 (Apr 1911); Vol.35 no.11 (Feb 1912)]

The following are available at Newark Public Library: June 1888; May 15 (1901, 1903-1907, 1909).

The Message of St. Barnabas Hospital

Includes annual reports.

Special Collections Call Number: SNCLY2 RA960 .M583 [Vol. 1 no.1 (July 1912), no.3 (Feb 1913)]

The following are available at Newark Public Library: 1912-1913, 1917, 1940.

The Message.

Hospital of Saint Barnabas and for Women and Children.

Some issues include annual report.

Special Collections Call Number: SNCLY2 RA960 .M583 [Vol.22 no.1: April 1945]

The following are available at Newark Public Library: Mar 1938, Feb 1939, Mar 1940, Mar 1941, Apr 1943, Apr 1945, Jun 1947, Jun 1949.

St. Michael's Hospital

Annual Report of the Directors and Medical Board.

St. Michael's Hospital. Newark, N.J.

Special Collections Call Number: SNCLY2 RA982 .N6814 [Vol.14 (1879); Vol.17 (1882); Vol.18 (1883); Vol.20 (1885); Vol.22 (1887)]

The following are available at the New Jersey Historical Society: 1872, 1874, 1876-1877, 1879-1888; 1890.

Other

Dr. Wright's Sanitarium and Maternity Home

"An institution established in 1921...The only institution in the state where colored physicians can treat and care for their own patients." 1923 Journal of the National Medical Association advertisement.

United Hospitals Medical Center Records, 1873-1996

"United Healthcare Systems, Inc. (formally United Hospitals Medical Center) was established in 1957. Four medical facilities of Newark comprised United Hospitals Medical Center: Presbyterian Hospital, Babies' Hospital (later Children's Hospital), the Hospital for Crippled Children, and the Newark Eye and Ear Infirmary. Later, the Eye Institute of New Jersey and the Kessler Institute for Rehabilitation established affiliations." Finding aid for the collection in the Department of Special Collections, Rutgers George F. Smith Library of the Health Sciences in Newark.

Fighting Maternal Mortality: Investigating the Influence of Architecture on Women's Health and Wellness

Amanda Nicole Sparks. (M. Arch. Thesis) University of Maryland, 2023.

"This thesis seeks to explore how the use of community based and empathetic design, providing equitable access to nature, and life cycle planning strategies could improve care and redefine how we think about women’s health care in the United States." Chapters 6 and 7 focus on Newark as "the demographics of Newark suggest a population that is highly vulnerable to the problem of Maternal Mortality in the state of New Jersey." Chapter 7 is a site analysis for locating a women's health and wellness center in Newark. Rutgers-restricted Access

Monitor's Report on the Assessment of University Hospital

Submitted to the Commissioner of lthe New Jersey Department of Health pursuant to Governor Murphy's Executive Order 32. December 7, 2018.

"Early Newark Hospitals,"

Rosary S. Gilheany. New Jersey History 83(1), January 1965, 10-23. Five hospitals opened in Newark between 1861 and 1873: Ward, St. Barnabas, St. Michael's (originally: Hospital of the Sisters of the Poor of St. Francis), Clara Maas (originally: German Hospital) and Orange Memorial. Available?

"'Women are Proverbially Hopeful:' Newark's Voluntary Hospitals, 1867-1890,"

William D. Sharpe. Bulletin of the New York Academy of Medicine 62(4), May 1986, 336-368. Drawing on their experience as members of Civil War ladies' aid societies, in the 1870s women were instrumental in founding and administering Newark's first hospitals. Based on extensive archival work. Rutgers-restricted access

It Happened at The Beth: Great Moments in the Life and Times of Newark Beth Israel Hospital

Jewish Historical Society MetroWest. 2005. DVD.

"Linda Forgosh, curator of the Jewish Historical Society of MetroWest, gives a speech about the history of the the founding of the Newark Beth Israel Hospital, and the effect its opening had on the neighboring Jewish community." Available?

Newark Care Facilities
Photo albums, primarily postcards and maps, arranged by institution.