Skip to main content

EndNote User Guide - RBHS: Intro to EndNote

This guide will provide information on using the bibliographic software to assist with your research.

ENDNOTE CUSTOMER SUPPORT 1-800-336-4474 press 4

Rutgers University Libraries are now licensed to provide university-wide access to EndNote for all Rutgers students, faculty, and staff.

 Rutgers users can download EndNote at http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/EndNote either within or outside the Rutgers network using their NetID. When downloading the program, you should not be asked to enter a product key. Here are the tips for installations.

Windows / PC Getting Started

EndNote X8 has a "Getting Started" site for WIndows / PC users: http://endnote.com/training/guide/windows

 

Mac Getting Started

EndNote X8 has a "Getting Started" site for MAC users: http://endnote.com/training/guide/mac

 

EndNote Tutorials & Info

In addition to the links below, helpful information is available from the Help menu within EndNote itself.

These are some very useful "Help" resources for EndNote

EndNote Updates

To make sure you have the latest EndNote updates installed, in EndNote click on Help and then Check for Updates.

Should I Upgrade to the Latest Version of EndNote X8?

Compare the older versions of EndNote before deciding if you will upgrade.

What is EndNote?

EndNote is bibliographic management software that can make your life much easier when you need to collect and manage citations for your research or coursework.

 

Among many other helpful features, EndNote software will allow you to:

  • Import citations from popular research databases and search engines
  • Store citations in groups
  • Insert in-text citations and bibliography in Word documents in the bibliographic style of your choice
  • Find and attach full-text  PDFs to their corresponding EndNote records
  • Sync citations between EndNote Basic (formerly EndNote Web) and EndNote
  • Search and annotate PDFs

About EndNote X8

EndNote X8 is the latest version of EndNote licensed by Rutgers (RBHS). Watch the video below to see the new features included in this version of EndNote. 

New features include:

  • Automatically import PDFs from a specified folder on your computer
  • Organize folders of PDFs into separate groups during PDF import
  • Automatically rename PDFs with customized settings during PDF import
  • Create a curriculum vitae with subheadings for different types of publications by selecting an EndNote output style
  • Create a bibliography using Cite While You Write (EndNote toolbar for Word) with separate sections for separate topics or for primary/secondary sources

Note: Before downloading EndNote X8 or using the sync feature, it is STRONGLY recommended that you create a back-up copy of your EndNote library. To do this, go to File > Compressed Library in EndNote.

 

Download EndNote Software

Rutgers students, staff and faculty can now download the latest version of EndNote with a current NetID.

Follow the download instructions provided on the page to ensure you are not asked for a product code. The key to a clean installation is to recognize that the downloaded file comes in a "zipped " format and that is must be "unzipped" to be installed properly. This brief handout explains how to do this and have the product code installed and the same time. 

There are instructions for MAC and Windows on this page.

Announcements

The George F. Smith Library offers EndNote training classes. To find out when our classes are offered please check the Schedule of Library Workshops and register for Introduction to EndNote or Advanced EndNote.

For news, tips, and answers to commonly asked questions about EndNote, please check our EndNote Blog.

Onoing EndNote Training Opportunities: Thomson Reuters, the makers of EndNote, offer regular webinars throughout the year. Check out their training schedule of upcoming sessions.

EndNote also has its own YouTube channel with short training videos that you can watch at your convenience!

EndNote has an iPad app. Learn more about this mobile app from EndNote and download the EndNote App on this page of the iTunes Store. 

 

ENDNOTE CUSTOMER SUPPORT 1-800-336-4474 press 4

How to Insert Citations at the End of a Chapter or Section

If you are writing a manuscript that contains several chapters. You would like to display a reference list at the end of each chapter but not at the end of the manuscript. The latest EndNote version can help you accomplish this task. You just need to do two things:

From the EndNote Library: modify the style

  1. Go to Edit -->Output Styles --> Open Style Manager and choose the style you are using. For example, APA 6th
  2. Click Edit and then click Sections from the lefthand panel when the style window opens. This allows you to create multiple reference list for a single Word document
  3. Check “Create a bibliography for each section”
  4. Save the style as a modified version of  APA 6th , such as APA 6th Bibliography

On the Word document: insert section break to each chapter and apply the modified style

For Mac Users (Word 2011)

  1. Separate each chapter by going to Insert --> Section Break
  2. Go to Tools --> EndNote --> Configure Bibliography making sure the style is set to the one you just modified, such as APA 6th Bibliography
  3. Word document will automatically update the references and display them after each chapter.

For PC Users (Word 2010)

  1. Separate each chapter by going to Page Layout  --> Break -->Next Page under Section Breaks
  2. Click the EndNote tab on Word
  3. Click the arrow at the right corner of Bibliography 
  4. Configure Bibliography window opens making sure the style is set to the one you just modified, such as APA 6th Bibliography
  5. Word document will automatically update the references and display them after each chapter.