Skip to main content

Spanish and Latin American Literature and Film: Home

Use this guide for researching the fiction, poetry, drama and cinema of Spain, Latin America and the Caribbean.

New Books in the Library

For a list of this month's new titles, click here.

CINE CHILENO ONLINE

This website pulls together multiple authorized collections of freely available streaming movies from Chile.

New Resource: Digitalia Streaming Film Collection

The Digitalia Streaming Film Collection contains hundreds of Spanish and Latin American feature films and documentaries available to stream on- or off-campus. Selected thematic portals are available to help users browse content, including collections of Argentine and European cinema and current events documentaries. Selected North American classic films are also included in dubbed Spanish as well as the original English.

FEATURED RESOURCE: No-Do (Noticiarios y documentales cinematográficos 1943 - 1981)

This impressive collection makes newsreels from Franco's state-run channel freely available online.

"El No-Do (Noticiarios y Documentales), se creó el día 29 de septiembre de 1942 por la dictadura del General Francisco Franco como un servicio de difusión de noticiarios y reportajes de obligatoria exhibición en los cines de España, posesiones y colonias. Este noticiario servía por un lado de aparato de propaganda del franquismo y por otro de hilo de unión de los españoles con el mundo. Su primera proyección tuvo lugar el 4 de enero de 1943 y así se mantuvo hasta que, en 1975, dejó de ser obligatorio. La producción cesó en 1981. En diciembre de 2012 RTVE.ES y Filtomoteca abren estos documentos excepcionales de la historia de la transformación de España a su consulta libre en Internet."

No-Do (Noticiarios y Documentales)

Featured Resource -- REDALYC

REDALYC (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal) is a large open-access database of full-text scholarly journal articles in a variety of disciplines.

The articles are searchable by keyword or author, or journals may be browsed by topic, country or institution. Most articles are available for download in pdf format.

Featured Resource: Filmmakers Library

Filmakers Library Online contains over 900 international documentary films made over the last 35 years by independent filmakers from all over the world. They are feature length films, providing hundreds of hours of viewing and transcripts that scroll as the video plays.  Most academic areas are represented and there is broad subject access, as well as keyword searching of the titles and transcripts, and access by geographic location.

Your Subject Librarian

Melissa Gasparotto
Contact:
Alexander Library

College Avenue Campus

gasparom@libraries.rutgers.edu

Related Research Guides