Skip to main content

History and College Life : Getting Started

This guide presents select resources on Douglass and Rutgers Colleges' history. Originally created for the History and College Life seminar taught by Prof. Nancy Hewitt, Fall '12. .

About This Guide

This guide is designed to help you find resources applicable to History College Life. 

Please feel free to contact me if you would like research assistance. My contact information is in the far right-hand box. 

The contact information for Tom Frusciano, University Archivist, and Tom Glynn, Anglo American Librarian: 

Tom Frusciano SC/UA, Alexander Library. 

Tel: 848-932-6149. Email: fruscian@libraries.rutgers.edu.

Tom Glynn Alexander Library. 

Tel: 848-932-6105. Email: glynn@libraries.rutgers.edu

 

Links

Rutgers Oral History Archives Director: Shaun Ilingworth 732-932-8190. Ilingwo@history.rutgers.edu

Primary Source Material at Rutgers Libraries, New Brunswick

Special Collections and University Archives (SC/UA) collects and preserves published and unpublished material that documents various aspects of University and New Jersey history. In addition to primary sources, SC/UA also have a wealth of secondary source materials. The collection includes resources in various formats including photographs, manuscripts, documents, rare books, recordings, etc. SC/UA also maintains the records management program for all records generated by the University, thereby serves as the University's archival repository.

The SC/UA's telephone and hours:

  • Service/reference desk telephone:848-932-7510.
  • Hours:Mon-Fri 9AM-5PM, Sat 1-5PM. 

In addition, Douglass Library has vertical files with material publshed by campus organizations and other sources. To inquire and use Douglass Women's File contact Kayo Denda (kdenda@rutgers.edu).

The above collections do not circulate. You will be asked to use the collection on site.

What is a Primary Source?

Primary Sources are the raw materials of history. They are original documents or creative works generated during the time period under study. Often, but not always, primary sources contain or demonstrate the perspective of its creator as in a diary or a letter. However, documents and reports from governments or organizations, such as universities, are also primary sources as they express institutional viewpoints on issues grounded in a historical period. Now many digital collections of primary sources are available on the Web as digitized documents, openly accessible or as a subscription. 

Examples of Primary Sources:

  • Artifacts (artwork, architectural models, clothing. furniture, paintings, etc.)
  • Broadsides and posters
  • correspondence
  • First person accounts (diaries, journals,letters, personal narratives)
  • Films
  • Historical documents and reports such as wills and testaments.
  • Interviews and oral histories (print and other formats such as cassete tapes, DVDs, etc.)
  • Manuscripts of literary works
  • Lab reports
  • Ledgers
  • Maps
  • photographs

(based on U. of Kentucky Libraries Special Collections resources)

Comments (0)

Head, Margery Somers Foster Center & Women's Studies Librarian

Kayo Denda
Contact:
Margery Somers Foster Center

Mabel Smith Douglass Library

8 Chapel Drive

Tel: 848-932-5023

Fax: 732-932-6777

Email: kdenda@rutgers.edu
Website / Blog Page