Skip to main content

Francophone Cultures of Haiti, Louisiana, Senegal and Morocco: Home

Introduction

This guide serves as a starting point for conducting research relating to the Francophone cultures in Haiti, Louisiana, Senegal and Morocco for the French 409:01 course. Included are links to the library's print and electronic resources as well as resources on the web.

General Resources

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium

Provides access to over 1,800 scholarly journals. A majority of the titles are published outside of the United States. This resource is both international and interdisciplinary in scope.

Ebrary Academic Complete

Large collection of scholarly ebooks.

Videos on Global Regions at Rutgers

World Digital Library

High resolution digital images of manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings.

Africa-Wide: NiPAD

This database contains citations and links to articles, books and book chapters, dissertations and selected news articles. Use the "Get it @ R" button to see if Rutgers has a copy of an article or book you want to read.

Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database (AfricaBib)

This index includes citations for articles on a broad swath of topics related to African countries.

Anthropology Plus

Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

Black Thought and Culture

Black Thought and Culture offers the full text of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writing by leading figures in African American life and culture.

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts is a comprehensive bibliography for material on the history of the world from 1450 to the present.

Persée is a database of freely available French-language journal articles in the humanities.

Revues.org is an open-access repository of French-language journals in the humanitities and social sciences. NOTE: This database requires the use of diacritics and accent marks in order to work properly.

Google Scholar

Metropolitan Museum of Art publications

The Met has made many of their catalog of publications available for free online. They include critical scholarly works and exhibition catalogs on global topics.

Your Subject Librarian

Melissa Gasparotto
Contact:
Alexander Library

College Avenue Campus

gasparom@libraries.rutgers.edu