Skip to main content

Intro to Comparative Politics: Countries

Constitutions

Constitute: The World's Constitutions to Read, Search, and Compare. Text of 194 constitutions, with the ability to view and compare texts. From the Comparative Constitutions Project.

Comparative Constitutions Project. Data about the world's constitutions.

Political Handbook of the World

Political Handbook of the World. Basic resource for finding facts and analysis on each country’s governmental and political makeup. Available? Preview

Maps

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection Online maps of current and general interest. From the Univesity of Texas in Austin.

International Affairs Resources: Maps Links to map resources from the WWW Virtual Library.

Country Information

CIA World Factbook
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities." A basic resource for country information!
BBC News: Country Profiles
"Guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives. "
Guide to Nations
Law Library of Congress guide to country resources.
Statesman's Yearbook
Annual review of the history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country of the world. Available?
Business Source Premier, the major database for business literature, includes extensive reports on countries produced by CountryWatch Inc. To find reports enter the name of the country in the first search box and select "Subject" from the pull-down menu. In the next search box, enter "countrywatch."
Index of Economic Freedom
Database of country-by-country analyses and data on trade, foreign investment, government intervention, monetary policy, black markets, etc. From the conservative Heritage Foundation.
U.S. Department of State Fact Sheets
Information on all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations.