Citing BooksE-MailGovernment PubsJournalsNewspapersPodcastsPoster SessionsWeb Pages
General Writing HelpPlagiarismStyle Formats
This is the "Citing Sources" page of the "Citing Sources of Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citing Sources of Information  

This LibGuide was designed to provide you with assistance in citing your sources when writing an academic paper.
Last Updated: Jul 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/CitingSources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Citing Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

The Writing Center

The RBHS Writing Center provides writing tutoring to RBHS undergraduate and graduate students. Professional tutors will offer support in critical reading, research, and writing skills. Both in-person and virtual sessions are available by appointment.

Tutoring will be available during the following hours:

Mondays: 4:00pm - 6:30pm
Thursdays: 1:30pm - 4:00pm
Fridays: 4:00pm - 6:30pm

To make an appointment, students may:

1.    Email us at rbhswc@andromeda.rutgers.edu
2.    Call us at  973-972-0661
3.    Come to the George F Smith Library during tutoring hours

The RBHS Writing Center is located in the E-Classroom of the George F. Smith Library (the first classroom on the right). Our front desk coordinator will be available to assist you during the following hours:

Mondays: 2:00pm - 6:30pm
Thursdays: 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Fridays: 3:00pm - 6:30pm

We will respond to all phone messages and emails during regularly scheduled hours.

Rutgers Bibliographic Content Research Guide

  • Rutgers Libraries Bibliographic Citations
  • EndNote
    EndNote is a program that helps users quickly collect and organize references from online sources (or elsewhere), create a searchable personal database, find and cite these references while writing, and create bibliographies formatted in their style of choice. The Libraries are licensed to provide download access to EndNote only for our Smith and RWJ Library users.
 

Definitions

 
citation reflects all of the information a person would need to locate a particular source. For example, basic citation information for a book consists of name(s) of author(s) or editor(s), title of book, name of publisher, place of publication, and most recent copyright date.
 
A citation style dictates the information necessary for a citation and how the information is ordered, as well as punctuation and other formatting. 
 
bibliography lists citations for all of the relevant resources a person consulted during his or her research.
 
In an annotated bibliography, each citation is followed by a brief note—or annotation—that describes and/or evaluates the source and the information found in it.
 
works cited list presents citations for those sources referenced in a particular paper, presentation, or other composition.
 
An in-text citation consists of just enough information to correspond to a source's full citation in a Works Cited list. In-text citations often require a page number (or numbers) showing exactly where relevant information was found in the original source.
 

Medical Librarian

Profile Image
Peggy Dreker
Contact Info
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
George F. Smith Library of the Health Sciences
Information & Education Department
973-972-9549
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip